Chasing crabs on the beach

IMG_8846.jpg

Photographing crabs can be tricky, they usually flee into the water or hide in the sand when someone gets too close. So approaching slowly and using a telephoto lens may be the best way to get a good shot.

IMG_8678.jpg

I honestly do not know much about crab species, at most some about common ones, but I have always found the variety of colors and sizes that they have interesting. Some can be larger than a hand, with pliers strong enough to break branches (I don't want to imagine what they can do to a finger).

IMG_8521.jpg

Anyway, after several attempts, I learned that the best way is to get close enough before they start to flee, slowly get the camera ready and keep getting closer while I take some pictures, so I can even capture the moment when they start their escape.

Well, here I share the result, I hope you like it.

IMG_8842.jpg

IMG_8852.jpg

IMG_8854.jpg

IMG_9728.jpg

Sort:  

Great photos! And I'm glad you managed to capture them. Crabs can be fast! In Australia we have a species of crab called soldier crabs and they were always fun to chase as a child. As an adult I would feel bad chasing them like I used to though haha!

Thank you. I also remember chasing crabs as a child, I think it is an inevitable stage of childhood, because now I see my children do the same. 🤦‍♂ 😅 The important thing is that they do not hurt them.

These are great pictures! I am sure it is challenging getting this great of shots.

Thanks. You have to dedicate a lot of time, but it's fun, that's how I use time on my vacations 😂

Incredible photo congratulations

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!