Still Life Photography Contest!

in #photography4 years ago (edited)
Hello there! It's time for the FIRST official contest from the @phototoken project!
For the first weekly round of contests: We are going to do some STILL LIFE PHOTOGRAPHY! Still life is an excellent form of photography to intensely practice: Lighting, exposure and composition.

image.png

If you have never heard of still life ... read the following guide:https://www.format.com/magazine/resources/photography/still-life-photography-ideas-and-tips

In a nutshell still life is photography of inanimate objects.
For this competition we will accept all forms of cameras including i phones etc. Black and white or color will be accepted. EVERYONE WHOM ENTERS WILL WIN THIS FIRST ROUND! There will also be a 1st place winner.

How to enter:

Comment your picture down below.

Rules:

1 entry per person.
NO VOTING FOR YOUR OWN PICTURE.
Vote for at least one OTHER person.
EVERYONE WINS 20 PHOTO TOKENS.
Biggest payout on picture gets 1st place. 1st place wins 100 PHOTO tokens + half of this payout.
Second biggest payout on picture gets 2nd place. 2nd place wins 50 PHOTO tokens.
MUST vote for this post and re-blog.

20200628_162347[1].jpg

Here is my example entry: I will be posting it below in the comments. This is where you should post your entrees! REMEMBER NO SELF VOTING! Good luck.

Sort:  

When I was arranging the products, I put a few cucumbers in an empty wooden pot and I got a very interesting result. Right away I took the camera and shoot a picture of:

Cucumber octopus

cucambers.jpg

It’s like The Kraken ..... kraken kukumber

Very nicely put and photographed, my favorite for the moment ;)

Thank you @lightcaptured

Pleasure ;) Good luck!

WOW! What an amazing still life composition!

The zoom is very sharp ... but the composition is still soft because of the lighting and grey-scale.

Thank you @phototoken . The idea of this photo was to be more minimalistic only the main subject be in focus.

To support you even further, here's my entry :)

DDH_0672.jpg

I've made a post as well, here's the link: https://peakd.com/hive-142159/@lightcaptured/my-contest-entry-supporting-the-new-phototoken

Very nice focus and exposure/lighting.

Excellent.... here is my entry:

Mug on a log

Shoes drying by the fire after the Storm

13B29D91-58FB-421E-A143-BCF7DB90E423.jpeg

Thanks for entering!

2016102022.19.50 ZS retouchedEdit.jpg
Artifact of Growth


For my entry, I present you with a grasshopper's exoskeleton. I couldn't believe how well preserved it was sitting in my backyard. Sorry if you don't like bugs and are squeamish, but this stuff fascinates me.

I also shared this contest in a recent post (https://peakd.com/photofeed/@bradfordtennyson/my-entry-in-to-the-still-life-photo-contest-link-in-post) hopefully we can all get some traction with these types of activities.

This one is my favorite so far. Such strong focus. GREAT macro photography!

20200628_162347[1].jpg

141011SKWWPW0273_01.jpg

0i3j0g.jpg

My entry

Yum! Cooked food is certainly a great still life subject!

Congratulations @phototoken! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!