A discounted gondola ride in Venice

in #photography3 years ago (edited)

_DSC95842.jpg

Like the rest of Europe, Italy is struggling with Covid. And we all know that tourism is down and travel-business is bad. But a gondola ride is still being advertised for 80 euro for 30 minutes and I thought that was a little expensive.

So my friend and I didn't even consider it. But when a cute gondolier asked us if we wanted a ride, I couldn't resist but yell jokingly that I would take a ride with him for 20 euro. I had no clue that would be taken somewhat seriously and before we knew it, we were stepping into a wobbly gondola for just a bit more than what I suggested.

The discounted price resulted in a bit of a discounted tour with not a lot of relevant information about the city besides the "Venice is sinking" stories while pointing out doorways being underwater left and right.

But it is a bit of a bucket list thing if you want to admit it or not. And we scratched that! Now where do we get that tshirt?

Sort:  

80 euro sounds a bit much. but it is an tourist town, so...