Living in Burano... the colourful island near Venice

in #photography3 years ago

_DSC95612.jpg

I had a friend over this weekend and since we both love colors, it was time to pay a visit to Burano. This is a small island in the Venitian lagoon. Back in the days, house owners would paint their houses so they would be able to recognize their houses from a distance while fishing.

We expected to arrive in a town with just a few colored houses. But everywhere we looked, the houses were painted in the most amazing colors. We fantasized about buying one of those houses in our favorite colors and growing old there.

My friend took a COVID test and will be on a 10-day quarantine after returning home. Just to be able to come to visit me in Venice.

Sort:  

wow! Beautiful, vivid colours!

beautiful colorful picture

the houses helped a lot :)

Yay, so glad you went over there. That was one of my favorite places when I visited Venice. I have some treasured glass from there too.

Yeah, loved it there. Will very likely return soon ;)