Cloud Caught By A Skyscraper In Shibuya

in #photography4 years ago

While walking to get sushi at lunch in Shibuya yesterday I took this picture of a cloud reflected off one of the new skyscrapers in Shibuya.

01eaa626-bc85-4b5a-8117-89136550845a.jpg

I think if I was 1 block further back and about 30 seconds earlier I could have framed the building much better and the cloud would have been in a better position though.

89e1e76b-4e7f-4164-a551-670c62bc149d.jpg

This area that I am taking the photo from used to have an elevated train line running right over where I am standing in the early 2000s. There used to be a club under the tracks right about where the building is on the left side.

The skyscrapers in the center of the photo were just recently finished and have dramatically changed Shibuya. This back side of the station was was a dirtier area that most people never came to unless you had a reason. Now it's being renovated into an office & restaurant destination.

As for Shibuya crossing, there are definitely a lot less people out and about. I took this photo at about 1pm on Friday.

5b888848-8759-4953-9e99-196763d8c24c.jpg

It actually feels like it used to 20 years ago with hardly any foreigners. I'd prefer everything back to normal though. Many businesses are suffering and closing due to the lack of foreigners and foot traffic. While Japan is open as long as you wear a mask, it is almost impossible for foreigners to get into Japan right now. End the madness.

Pictures taken with my Canon SX540-HS