Behind the photo

in #photography4 years ago (edited)



Behind the Photo

I'm happy to announce my submission to the Photo Contest @behindthephoto, organized by @nelyp, sponsored by @appreciator. For rules please read them here.




As a photographer, I have many photographs that tell a story. Most of the time I let the viewer decide what story the photograph should tell. Of course, I sometimes share how it's done, or talk about what decisions had to be taken to get to a result, sometimes I guide them, but I rarely talk about the story behind the photograph. The task within the boundaries of this contest could be interpreted and viewed as different perspectives as well, what's really behind a photograph for someone, usually, this should be the photographer, who is behind the camera, haha. There are a few photographs that I took that gave me pretty cool or funny stories. Those are the stories about photographs that just happened and gave me an awesome experience that I've told in real life.







About 5 years ago, I was browsing Facebook and noticed a friend of mine asked for someone to get a haircut tonight at 8 PM. She just got hired by a new barbershop and needed to showcase her skills to the employer. I remember well, I was so busy at that time, I barely had time to go to the barber. As far as that goes, I didn't even know barbers were open until that late. The cut was free, and I thought "fuck it", let's help someone out (cough, I really, REALLY needed a haircut badly).

I took a shower, went on my bicycle and thought it wouldn't take that long. As I was trying to find the place, it was a pretty fancy barbershop. Found it... what the... is this a barbershop? Ok... ok... I realized I was even luckier than I already felt because this place was next level. The photographs right now might not strike you as a surprise, but this is the East part of Holland, not Amsterdam, and not to mention; 5 years ago.

If you didn't already notice, I fell in love with the place right away and the first thing that I could think of was; I need to photograph this. As for the treatment that I received, I didn't know that someone could care so much for hair. In all honesty, your hair was being treated with almost more respect than yourself. Unique experience. I was so overwhelmed by the service and interior that I almost forgot how great the result was (yeah, I did go there for just a haircut).

The next morning, I had an appointment with the owner of the barbershop. A laid back guy, that had a strong taste and knew exactly how, and what he wanted. Offering him a free photo session of the brand-new saloon wasn't that easy. Not that I was planning a free session, but we bargained and made a deal. I simply just wanted to photograph that interior, get a little something in return. He added 10 haircuts, which to me didn't sound that much of a deal, but after finding out they charge a whopping 40 euro's for a men's haircut, I could imagine it sounded a lot to him.

You women... I know some of you pay well over 100 euro's to get your shit together, but for the guys here in the Netherlands, it has always been around 20 euro's or something, nothing too crazy.

Anyway, if you're still reading, thanks :) let me reward you with the photographs that I took that people without reading would also see. Ha.. o.. fuck... Oh well, it's not the end of the story, or is it?



©2020 - @rubencress | rubencress.nl





©2020 - @rubencress | rubencress.nl





©2020 - @rubencress | rubencress.nl





©2020 - @rubencress | rubencress.nl





©2020 - @rubencress | rubencress.nl





©2020 - @rubencress | rubencress.nl





©2020 - @rubencress | rubencress.nl






In the end, I only used 3 out of 10 haircuts, because I was just simply too busy. Yep, my hair always looks like shit every 3 months or so... but this story, I will never forget.

What started as something just convenient and a coincidence turned out to be a great (everything that's free is great according to Dutch mentality) new haircut and an awesome experience.

I guess the moral of the story is that without having expectations you not only allow yourself to be surprised to the brighter side of life, but you also decrease the risk that ends up with you feeling the necessity to regret things.

Cheers,
Ruben Cress

10% of this post goes to @sbdpotato




Visit my website for more.

Sort:  

Wow, that is a damn nice interior! Glad the haircut wasn't a disaster.

Thank you so much @rubencress for your entry. All those hair cuts, and we don't get a "before & after"-picture?!? ;-)

Best of luck in the contest!