Not my favorite thing to do, but it was about time: a new self-portrait

in #photography4 years ago

Damn, it was about time that I would take a new portrait of myself that I could use for my LinkedIn profile and other Social Media platforms. It has been a while since I took a look in the mirror. I didn't go to the barber since Christmas. Well, I can only guess that you can imagine how that looked like :D. Last week, I went to the barber and it was a ravage. I think I lost about some weight after leaving :P. I mean, most barbers were closed during the "lock-down", it felt really convenient for me not going as I was forced to stay/work from home anyway.

I always said it is important to have a good clear portrait of yourself on LinkedIn. It kinda gives you the chance to make a good first impression. But hey, I didn't take my own advice as -all- my portraits are outdated. I switched them around for some time, but I knew I had it coming... I had to take an updated portrait so people know that it is me when they meet me.

Last week, when going through some stuff at the attic, I found the missing light-modifier that I lost during the move. It's a basic light modifier that's great to use for back-lit situations. With a diffuser in front of it, I managed to easy the highlights on my cheek, but I feel that I could've diffused it a little bit more (moving it closer to the subject, and further away from the light source). You'll see in the picture down below. As a key-light, to light up my face, I used a dish at full power. And to get just slightly more defined light under my chin, I used a reflector pointed halfway at the bottom of my face. I could also have used an additional light source, but using the power of the dish, it would reflect light in a much smoother way.

So, here ya go, a simple portrait that uses a basic 2-light setup that can easily be used in any circumstance and location.

Cheers,
Ruben



WEBRuben01.jpg

Sort:  

Looking good man!

Thanks Franz!

Strong presence, good choice!