Happy Holidays From Downtown Truckee, California! (6 new photos)

in #photography3 years ago

We finally had a decent snowstorm on Sunday here in Truckee, California! After a busy day, I decided to grab my camera and go shoot the Christmas/Holiday lights while the snow was still dumping. Hardly anybody else was out Sunday evening, it was incredibly beautiful and peaceful.

Here are a few of the photos I took. I had to work fast because the snow was fairly wet and I didn't want to soak my "weather resistant" camera gear too much. I walked around downtown once with my 24-105mm lens on the Canon 5DSr and then once again using a wider angle 16-35mm lens. All the shots were handheld, with no flash used. The ISO was very high and varied depending on the scene.

_Q1A9011.jpg

_Q1A8872a.jpg

_Q1A8814.jpg

_Q1A8888.jpg

_Q1A8936a.jpg
This is a new "selfie station" in town. There is another painting behind the bear but as you can see below, I preferred taking my selfie with the bear. Also, I'm friends with the artist who painted the bear, she does incredible work - saralsmith.com

20201213_192657b.jpg

I hope you are all enjoying the time of year. Happy Holidays!

Oh... and I hope to make it to some of the virtual Hivefest 2020. Maybe I'll see you there!

portraitandlogo200.jpg
-Scott Thompson

Sort:  

How I love snow. I wish we had some down here.

It's great, most of the time...

Bet its amazing there!!

Best time of year for photos in Downtown Truckee for sure. It's a little sloppy today but we are supposed to get another fresh white layer tonight...

Nice I'm up near tetons and its amazing with the snow all around these town

Sweet. I've got to make it out there sometime. Enjoy it!

must have been a great feeling, beautiful work

Thank you! Cold but yes indeed.

looks great.
i was hoping for some snow last week, but from the looks of it we will probably have no snow till new year. we didn't even have a decent freezing temperatures yet.

I understand. It's supposed to be snowing now but it's raining... Sorry you have to wait a bit longer. Hopefully it will be looking like winter soon. Cheers!

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Congratulations @scottshots! You received a personal badge!

It's great to see you are attending HiveFest⁵ in Altspace VR.

Have fun!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

It's today! Do not miss the opening of HiveFest⁵