Last Night's Sunset At Prosser Reservoir

in #photography3 years ago

A couple of days ago, I decided to walk my dog at Prosser Reservoir, about a 10 minute drive from my house in Truckee, California. The iced over reservoir was looking great and I stumbled upon this scene with Northstar Ski Resort in the background. I knew I had to come back for a sunset shot and fortunately, I didn't have to wait long. Yesterday, the MySunset app forecasted a nice sunset so I again loaded up my dog and camera into the 4x4 and took off to Prosser.

It's a decent walk to this spot, and the temerature was a bit warmer yesterday so a lot of the snow and ice on land had started melting and turning in to mud. My dog loved the mud and ice, I knew I would have to give him a bath later...

The sunset wasn't quite as explosive as forecasted but it was still a very nice one. I ended up with a few "keeper" photos, here are two of them below, shot with a Canon 5DSr and a 24-105mm lens (and a graduated neutral density filter) -

_Q1A9705.jpg

This other sunset photo below is a wide angle stitched panoramic photo. The file size is huge and it can be printed VERY large.

ProsserNorthstar.jpg

My dog Quill was loving this little photo adventure. At times, he would just sit there, staring off into the distance at the scenery. It was great to see him taking it all in, instead of just running and chewing on sticks. This shot below and the next few photos were shot at the same location, the day before the sunset photos, early afternoon. I did not wait around until sunset that day.

_Q1A9357.jpg

_Q1A9363.jpg

The ice was actually looking a lot better on this first day of shooting this location. It's amazing how quickly things can start melting and looking different when we have a warmer day.

_Q1A9490.jpg

I had shot some cool macro scenes of the ice and I had planned on shooting more last night. But nope, the ice structures in the surface cracks had mostly melted and were no longer really photogenic.

_Q1A9468.jpg

As always, these images are available as large fine art prints or to license and use as stock photography. They can be found on my website on this "Recent Work" page: https://scottshotsphoto.photoshelter.com/gallery/Recent-Work/G0000CWVA3mDd9tE/

Please let me know if you have any questions in the comments below. Thank you for looking and I hope you have a great day!

-Scott Thompson www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo200.jpg

Sort:  

wooooooooow, this photos are so good. I love the pano, but gotta be the first one for me, absolutely beautiful, the sunset compliments it so nicely.

Thank you @stevenson7! It was an incredible scene to see in person.
Have a great day!

The panoramic shot is incredible, very good work with the photos

Thank you @cryptoxicate! I like that pano as well, and it looks a lot better when viewing it large on my big monitor. Cheers!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!