Road Trip Home, Followed by Gardening

My stay at my sister's house never seems long enough. This time, however, I was in a hurry to get home and tackle a few more unfinished garden projects before the predicted rain arrived. Still, I made a few stops and took some pictures along the way.


20201009_103044_5.jpg

I shot this picture at the same scenic viewpoint (south of Ronan) where I took a previously posted picture. The bright morning sunlight plus some clouds resulted in a very different view. I could have used a third hand to shade the phone from the sun.


20201009_103054_6.jpg

Turning more toward the north, the bright sunlight was no longer directly in my face. Clouds were banked against the mountains, but much of the valley enjoyed blue sky.


20201009_114035_7.jpg

Another favorite scenic viewpoint is just a couple of miles south of St. Ignatius, near the top of Ravalli Hill. The panoramic scene of the Mission Mountains lies to the north and east, while to the west lies the Bison Range. I sometimes stop there, too, but not this time.


20201010_112131_8.jpg

At the edge of the tiny town of Paradise, Montana, I saw this herd of bighorn sheep grazing by the side of the highway. Beginning right about here, several miles of highway are known for bighorn sheep sightings, and, unfortunately, motor vehicle accidents involving bighorn sheep. Many miles of fences have been erected, which helps a great deal.

But they still wander alongside of and onto the highway from time to time. The young sheep farthest to the left had somehow gotten inside a fenced area for horses, and was trying to get out again. I don't know how it got in, or how it was going to get out.


20201009_175559_9.jpg

As soon as I got home, I donned my gardening clothes and got to work. I harvested the last of the cherry tomatoes (pictured) and the carrots, pulled up the last 5 tomato plants and 3 squash vines, dug up the gladiola bulbs, put away tomato cages and garden stakes, plus a few other tasks that deserve their own post. To be continued!

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

Just so much space and beautiful
Happy gardening ;D

Yes, it was a lovely trip! Montana is my favorite place to be.