Old Barn Photos

in #photography3 years ago

Were it not for @thekittygirl, I wouldn't know that pictures of old barns were a thing here on Hive. Anyway, I took a trip out to the middle of nowhere (relatively speaking, I'm from a country where "middle of nowhere" is pretty much everywhere, to the point where you have find far more ominous descriptors of true isolation) yesterday to look at an old farm that was for sale. I couldn't afford to buy the place, much less make it a decent place to live (the house was in terrible condition), but it's always fun to look.

DSC_0216.JPG

This isn't the biggest barn I've ever seen, but as you may be able to tell from the windows and electric meter, this place is huge.

DSC_0215 trimmed.jpg

DSC_0214.JPG

I could only guess what the exact history of this place is, but given that the farm is not far from an old concrete plant (which has long been out of operation), it should come as no surprise just how extensive the use of concrete is in the construction here. The blocks are considerably newer than the solid walls.

DSC_0205.JPG

This is one of the solid walls. There aren't many cracks.

DSC_0206.JPG

Old cattle pens... fully electrified!

DSC_0207.JPG

Using an old tyre to guard the saw teeth, clever.

DSC_0211.JPG

The floors are concrete as well, which is unusual for a barn built circa 1900, but you have the nearby concrete plant that was in operation at the time for that. Too bad the floors are busted up beyond recognition.

DSC_0212.JPG

The upper portion is supported by barely-hewn trees, about 30 cm diameter.

DSC_0213.JPG

I didn't notice the swallow's nest until after I looked through my photos. The lighting down here was so bad that I had a hard time focusing my camera, so there are a lot of photos that aren't even useable.

DSC_0200.JPG

Moving upstairs, there is an area of at least three metres by twelve metres (probably a severe underestimation) where hay was stored.

DSC_0198.JPG

DSC_0199.JPG

The roof is metal, and probably only ten years old.

DSC_0197.JPG

There is another partially walled partition on the other side of the main floor area, and it was filled with junk.

DSC_0203.JPG

I could share more, but I figured it best to leave it here - with a picture of wall calendar in the granary displaying April 1998.

Sort:  
That is, indeed, a very large barn and certainly shows signs of loving care and use over the years! It is fascinating to see the inside of barns, with the endless variety of arrangements and purposes to which they've been used! THANKS for showcasing this one and tagging me! 😊