Today was a good day. Sort of. (Test related)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

summer_holiday_2013-824.jpg

There has been a lot of complaining over the whale downvote testing that is currently going on.

I posted an image set:
https://steemit.com/photography/@tarazkp/travel-photography-black-and-whites-paris

The first comment was a downvote explanation from @smooth

I hadn't heard much about the test at this point and was a little concerned. The post and images were hidden due to low ratings a minute or two after posting. That is a worry.

I read a little of the posts for and against the test and I am for it. Even if the testing process is not perfect, it means at least that the developers are actively trying to improve the platform. I am in it to build something valuable from both a content and monetary perspective and therefore development is welcome. I am willing to forego some short-term gains for long-term as I see it as an investment in the future.

I would rather some less than ideal early testing than ill-conceived fast implementations. The testing shows that the developers are uncertain of what to do, And that is a GOOD thing. If what is happening is the development of something unique and valuable, there will of course be uncertainty. Pretending there is not would be ignorant.

I know some people are changing posting behaviour based on this test. This is a risk to the results as they will be skewed by peculiar activity or lack thereof.

A few minutes ago (and why I wrote this) @abit downvoted my above post. It went from $19 to $4 dollars. That is not the end of the world. My reputation also took a hit from 63 to 62. Okay, I can live with it. For the sake of the test, however poor some think it is, this is a small price.

What is significant is the worry it raised in me. Have I become a target? Will any future post that attracts votes (many posts I spent hours creating have attracted massive amounts like 50c, some much less ) be automatically downvoted? Will there be no chance to have a big reward? (My best post ever was about $35 total and anything close to this is relatively rare) Will that kill my desire to develop, create and share my best work? Will the time and effort be worth it in the long run or would it be more advantageous to get part-time job at a fast food joint? At what point do I look for a home elsewhere? Will a rival platform get this sorted out faster or better?

I have many other questions too. And concerns.
I really do hope there is method to the madness in this and future tests and the results create positive changes that motivate and reward those that invest in the platform. I also hope that it is remembered that without content, a platform is as useless as a skeleton without muscle and the strength and quality of the muscle is what will carry it into the future.

Good luck with the testing!

Taraz
[ another Steemit original ]

Sort: