This is why I am a FujiFilm Fan

in #photomag4 years ago

On 23 October 2019 the Fujifilm X-Pro 3 was announced and in good Fujifilm tradition, there are several reasons why this new iteration of the X-Pro series surprises us!


_DSF1367_XGA.jpg
In-camera Orton Effect (see below how this is done).

The talk of the town is the “hidden” implementation of the touch screen on the back of the camera. For the next couple of months, we will see many debates about this new direction for the X-Pro3. Already, I saw headings like “Purist Dream

_DSF1759_300.jpg
The Twist-Turn Effect
Camera, or Hipster accessory?”, “I’m Convinced”, “Different Breed”, “Unique Photographic Camera”, and so on.
But this is not what caught my attention – what did was this a small “extra” feature announcement about multi-exposure.

Fujifilm is one of the very few cameras that actually has a dedicated selection dial for multiple-exposures. But its implementation did not match the boldness of a special dial!

It only allowed for two photos to be blend together using the average exposure algorithm. That said, I did use it quite often, and most of the time with satisfactory results.

Well, this limitation is a thing of the past! The X-Pro3 now offers the blending of up to 9 photos with 4 different blend modes. Fujifilm is not the first to have this feature though. Back in the days I also used my Nikons to do multiple exposures, and Canon has a great implementation. Knowing this and then looking at the heading of this article, you may think that I am easily impressed, but this is not why I am a fan of Fujifilm.

I haven’t told you the story yet…

_DSF1024.jpg
The Church in Autumn – In-camera multi exposure

The story starts 10 months ago. As a Fujifilm X-Photographer, 10 months ago, I received an email from Fujifilm asking me to partake in an online survey for Fujifilm. I promptly did so and then get an idea; While I have the attention of one of the “insiders” in Fujifilm, let me ask this burning question about the implementation of multiple exposures …

Here is the letter I sent:
The letter.png

Yes, I know I did exaggerate a bit in this email. I actually use the two-photo multiple exposures quite often, and I know of many people with amazing results. And on top of this, the Nikon and Canon implementations are kept as a "special" feature on their high-end cameras, while the Fujifilm implementation is in ALL their cameras!

_DSF7213_350.jpg A frame looking for a photo

I did receive an email back from my newly created “insider” contact stating that he passed my letter on to the R&D team.

Then, In February, like a good Fujifilm fan, I watched the 1 hour and 49-minute Fujifilm Summit held in Dubai on YouTube, and great was my surprise to see that they added this feature request to their life audience survey.

Here is a link to the part in the video where they show the audience the possible feature enhancements to choose from.

Unfortunately, the audience did not rank this a high priority, so I did not think it will actually make it into a future body soon.

On 22 October I watched Ted Forbes first impression video of the X-Pro3, and about 5 minutes into the video, he mentioned the new Multiple Exposure option of the X-Pro3.

Here is the video at the moment he showed it in the setting menu:

Now, that is why I am a fan of Fujifilm. They listen to their photographers, even when it is not necessarily a popular request, they still listen and do…

Technical details of the photos posted here

  • In-camera Orton Effect
    This effect consists of two photos taken on a tripod (for accurate alignment). The first is taken sharp in focus, and the second is taken with the focus ring turned to blur the photo. I found that a little out of focus works better than totally out of focus.
  • Twist-Turn Effect
    For this technique, I was hand-holding the camera. I took the first photo, then rotate the camera slightly and because the second photo is superimposed on top of the first one in the viewfinder, I could move the camera until I got the correct center point.
  • The Church in Autumn
    I took the first photo of the church and then had to walk a couple of meters to the tree to take the second photo.
  • A frame looking for a photo!
    When I saw this (most likely) faded mural on the outside of a church in Germany, I could not help but want to make multiple exposures. Xiaoyi was my model!
  • Possibilities with this new implementation
    Very often, when travelling I do not have my neutral density filters with me. In the case when I want to capture movement, such as the movement of low hanging clouds, I take a series (usually 20) photos using the interval timer and then add them together in post-processing. The Mosque and Midrand (below) is an example of such a photo. For this article, I revisited this photo by opening 9 exposures in a stack in Affinity Photo and change the blending mode of all 9 photos to average. While the 20 photos will give a better result, this is not a bad option to use during travelling when you want to blog on the go without having access to your post-processing workflow.

Merge of 9 photos_XGA.jpg

Sort:  

Hi! Apologies for popping onto your comments but have called out to most people on a post with very little feedback. I have just launched the new @steemsouthafrica account and discord server and would be thrilled to have you join us! We are trying to build up some SA STEEM momentum again – organising regular meet-ups etc. If you are interested, you can hop onto the new server HERE – hope to see you there soon! Oh, and you are welcome to start making use of the #steemsa tag on your posts so that we can support them with an upvote and resteem!
JOIN US ON TWITTER

STEEMSA logo.png

Congratulations @johannvdwalt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!