A little sunshine in a covid 19 spring

in #plants4 years ago

20200514_131952 (2).jpg
This whole Covid 19 mess has taken it's toll. Our store has been shut down for nearly two months, but I did manage to get some overdue projects done.
Never the less it does get a little depressing being stuck at home. The other day, I was having a melancholy moment when I peered out into our backyard.

20200514_132012 (2).jpg
The little barrel cactus I rescued a couple years ago and posted about, sprouted a bright yellow flower.
I figured somewhere during it's life, it might bloom, but I had no idea when or what color the flowers might be.

20200514_131956 (2).jpg
It brought smile to my face and brightened my day!

At 5:20 pm our grandaughter came home and we took her out to see it, but it closed for the night.

20200514_171741 (2).jpg

20200514_171800 (2).jpg
Tomorrow will be another day.

Sort:  

Manually curated by blacklux 💡 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @roswellrockman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

Could be Echinocereus dasyacanthus. It's absolutely beautiful!

Thank you. I'm not very knowledgeable on plants. As I had mentioned in a previous blog; I was on a field trip with some club members, when I saw this poor helpless baby cactus laying on the ground. I looked like it had been somehow uprooted. I knew if I didn't get it in some dirt, it would dry up and die. So I found a coffee cup in my van, put some dirt in it, then planted it until I got home. Once there I planted it in our yard. I wasn't sure it would make it it, but it did. Now you see the result. Thanks again for the info.

Wow! So glad you helped him. Now he is thanking you :)
Hope he blooms for you for many years to come!