Brutal Legend IRL: The GamerSwarm

in #pob2 years ago (edited)

Many years ago I was introduced to a game titled "Brutal Legend" and was instantly in love with it. It touched damn near every nostalgic nerve I have from my teen years.

Here's the official trailer:

Today, when I look at the cryptospace, particularly in the gaming sector, I see the plot of this game playing out in real life, if you will, but in this chapter gamers are the army amassing outside the gates.

I used the word chapter, because this story is only beginning and we are only starting to see some of the actors stepping on to the stage.

The following article presents good evidence we are only beginning to see things unfold.

https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@taskmaster4450/web-2-0-screwing-musicians-over-again

From the article:

With the expansion of the Internet, we saw a paradigm shift. The introduction of Napster really caused a lot of fallout for the record companies. Suddenly, there was a new distribution model, that was free. The illegal file sharing of music is something that cannot be stopped even to this day.

@taskmaster4450 is damn near prophetic in his uncanny ability to see things from perspectives and distances most of us don't consider twice and he often talks about ways technology is the Promethean Fire of the modern era. The parallels he's drawn to the music revolution is being replicated in the gaming sector.

HiveDivider.png

We used to pay a lot to get a little music. Now we get music for free if we're dedicated enough.

When I first discovered the magic of music I was limited to vinyl. I needed a special machine to play them on, which required regular maintenance, in the form of buying and replacing the primitive needle that was attached to the end of an arm that a kid could easily abuse to a nonfunctioning status without even knowing he was being abusive.

We all know how that's changed now, and we're seeing something similar in gaming.

We used to pay to play games that gave us nothing substantial in return.

We used to pay for games that didn't even exist yet to get promo bonuses that were worthless outside the game that owned them.

Now we have blockchain games like #Splinterlands, #AxieInfinity, #dCrops, #Exode, and more that pay us to play and hold assets. If you weren't paying attention above, that's the exact opposite of the way it used to work. Technology does turn industry upside down.

We even have games that are nothing more than dividend paying mining applications, like Ape Mining Club and Bastandorra.

These are almost just incentivized savings accounts. Every asset I buy within pays a daily dividend forever, as far as I know.

Holding assets for a game now represents actual wealth in the real world.

Reflecting back on the article linked above, I think artists, particularly musicians, are next to step up to the plate and I think they'll knock it out of the park, as well.

With more people being screwed over by Web 2.0, the need is only increasing with each passing day. For this reason, we need to keep developing solutions that provides an alternative model to all that is taking place.

This is part of why I'm so excited about the 3SPK project. Once we get a solid decentralized platform for music and video to upload to/stream from we're unstoppable.

Now the Splinterlands Army and dCrops pitch fork wielding Rabble Rousers are marching together what other industries do you think will be hit next?

Sort:  

Congratulations @sinistry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Can’t vote on this anymore.

Obviously 🙄 big parts of the music industry had put trust into the NFT systems out there, but I’ve always found that to be a very stupid idea. Musicians as part of the Meta App System are a lot more suitable and digital tickets 🎫 are easy money. We’ll see a lot of that as soon as that technology gets to critical mass.

Is dCrops a hit? I’ve dodged it so far.

!LOL
I bought enough Alpha packs at $2 to get the 10 bonus packs and opened only the bonus packs to see what it was all about and liked it enough to invest a few hundred more into just buying off the market and holding my packs. At present those packs are listed on HE for $14.26, but they've been hovering around $5 or $6 so I suspect an adjustment is coming.

CROP, the in-game currency, is going for $.00533 (down 47%) but considering the game is still only a few months old I think it shows a lot of promise. I likely have a few thousand $$ worth of stuff now so I'm either the best or worst person you could ask and I don't know which. 😁

I can’t start another game… that would ruin my Hive/Life balance for real :p

Will you get rich of DCrops Alpha Packs? Or is your exit price somewhere in reach?

After seeing what Splinterlands has done, I'm just gonna sit on them for a year or two and think about it again then. 😁

It doesn't really take time to play. A few minutes to plant crops each season, a few minutes every couple of days to harvest (some stuff), but it can be as little as once or twice a season, depending on what you're growing.

I bet I don't even spend 2 hours a week on it. It's mostly a gamified savings account for lack of a better term.

Ah yeah okay, now that makes sense.