Forgiveness > Revenge

in #poem3 years ago (edited)

image.png

A coyote tore my neighbors cat
in half, the guts spread
on the lawn

I sigh and say a prayer for
the coyote

Mother nature,
forgive this coyote
because it doesn't know what it has done

It doesn't know how far
its intention was
from a place that could benefit others

It doesn't know
how much hurt it would cause
to those who are connected

It doesn't know
how it will impact others
in the future

It didn't know...

How I would have to hear my neighbor
calling for her cat.

Misty... misty... come home misty...
Where are you misty?

It didn't know...

That I would need to ask my neighbor
if the guts on my lawn
used to be her cat

That coyote didn't know...

That I would watch my neighbor weep
as I shoveled the hardened cat remains
into my wheel barrow

That beast didn't know...

That my neighbor and her parents
would be so sad they couldn't bury it
they had enough strength to utter fond memories

As I shoveled a hole
and buried misty
under a patch of their mulch

Mother, forgive that coyote
it didn't know what it was doing


https://unsplash.com/@zgalczynska

The majority of this story / poem is true.
I changed my neighbor's cat name.