Drink At Your Own Risk...

in #poetry2 years ago (edited)

“ Wine is a mocker, strong drink a brawler,
    and whoever is led astray by it is not wise.”

- Solomon


Alcohol is a mixed blessing...

In addition to our lead-in quote about wine being a mocker, the scriptures also tell us this:

"You cause the grass to grow for the livestock
    and plants for man to cultivate,
that he may bring forth food from the earth
    and wine to gladden the heart of man,
oil to make his face shine
    and bread to strengthen man's heart."

- Psalm 104:14-15

My conclusion?

It requires great wisdom on the part of the user to apply "wine" appropriately and in the proper context. This haiku speaks to the issue...


apricot-liqueur.jpg

Apricot Liqueur (source)


~Drink At Your Own Risk~

A haiku
by Duncan Cary Palmer



Drink at your own risk...
Sometimes it's a world of good,
Sometimes not so much.




~=~FIN~=~


man-428392_1920.jpg

Led astray... (source)


For much more of @creatr, click on the library image below:
CircleLib.jpg


Sort:  

I'm giving it away for 2022. Too much sugar, too late at night.

Hey, Matt!

Nice to "hear" your voice...

I understand. I wish you the best in your intention.

Blessings!

-creatr

I was raised that drinking was a sin, but after scouring the scriptures I concluded that there are many exhortations to avoid excess (with food, riches, and various other things) but not an outright prohibition.

I used to drink to excess and due to my addictive personality I abstain from all alcohol and have done so for about 20 years or so. I no longer feel it is a sin, but just one more thing in my life I'm probably better off avoiding....lolol

Happy New Year!

Hello friend,

Thank you for your thoughtful response.

We are each differently 'wired' and must deal with this issue as best for our own needs.

Thanks for sharing!

Absolutely! It's important to use caution with alcohol. Anyone with a history of alcohol abuse should stay away. Anyone drinking without a history must be careful to not create a history.

Hello, friend!

Great to hear from you.

Thanks so much for your very considerate response...

Happy New Year!

- @creatr