I'm In Love With You - Original Attic Poetry - Enjoy with Troy!

in #poetry2 years ago

image.png

Source

The Back Story

The innocence of romantic love

I wrote this poem in 1992 as lyrics to a romantic type love song that you might hear in a musical. It was inspired by a few dates with a music teacher. Regretfully, we lived miles from one another and she found another beau.

To share with you a table just for two, a feeling so beautiful!

It is amazing how the brief chemistry of others can inspire the pen or the piano. I saw these lyrics and song a part of a collection of songs as a song cycle. The opening art print is from Edouard Manet. Enjoy!

I’m In Love with You

Seeing you from afar
Wanting you as you are
What can I do
When I’m in love with you?

Searching for words to say
How I feel here today.
It’s strange! It’s new!
It’s, I’m in love with you.

Stepping toward you
With my heart out on my sleeve,
Hoping inside
You’ll listen and believe.

Knowing how life could be
Holding hands, you and me.
To share with you
A table just for two.
A feeling so beautiful
I’m in love with you.


images (9).png

Thanks for listening. Feel free to comment, upvote or repost.