Blessed Vertigo (Original Poetry)

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

Put a buzz
on my brain
like some
whimsical whisper,
barely audible
yet beguiling,
take me away,
and nudge
my world
to an ever
so slightly
different frequency...
vertigo.

When I regain
my balance
I am never
quite the same,
my psyche,
slightly altered,
we may fall
but never falter
each of
our destinies
are intertwined,
it's true.

Traveling through
this hall
of doorways,
this finite string
of simple moments,
our souls
speak to us
if we only
step aside.

As this
world turns,
we lose,
we gain,
through love,
and pain
in these times
of blessed vertigo.

~Eric Vance Walton~

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

hello dear friend @ericvancewalton good night
I admire the gift you have, you are incredible composing, I appreciate very much that you let us know this wonderful compassion
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid night and a happy rest

Thank you @jlufer! I hope you and the family are having a great week so far!

Hello my friend Eric... How are u doing? Beautiful poetry about the life in this world that is not always beautiful. I enjoy reading ur poetry , Eric..Have a nice day.

Hi Eliana, So good to hear from you! It's been a long time. I'm doing okay, trying to get through 2020 as best I can. I hope you and your family are well. Thank you and have a wonderful week!

Awesome stuff as usual. I really like the opening, that is probably my favorite part. I hope you had a great weekend. It was your anniversary right? My mom and dad celebrated their 50th this weekend.

Thank you much! Our anniversary was on the eighth and we had a wonderful dinner. Happy anniversary to your parents! 50 is a big one. It's amazing to hear when couples make it that far, it's such a rarity these days! Your anniversary is coming up too, right?

Yes, ours is next weekend.

I wish you both a wonderful anniversary!

Thank you!

Life, sometimes, produces vertigo! It is not only heights that do it. Also the moments, the people, some kisses. That cold sweat that runs down our backs, that emptiness in the stomach, that twinge in the head. It's as if deep down we remember that we have no wings and that we can fall. I hope it's okay and that vertigo you're talking about is just a metaphor. I hug you and have a good start to the week, Eric

Yes! Life events, good and bad can cause this vertigo but we can learn so much from it all! All is okay on this end. I wish the same for you. Enjoy the week ahead, Nancy!


Hey @ericvancewalton, here is a little bit of BEER from @gamsam for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.