Incongruence (Original Poetry)

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

The silence
was absolute
the very moment
we discovered
there was
no longer a
mutually-shared
illusion.

You believed life
lurked in the shadows of
negative spaces,
a series
of spontaneous accidents
to be survived.

I believed in
a serendipitous
universe that was
but a playground
of light to teach us
mastery over ourselves.

After that
nothing was
ever the same,
all we were left with
was the prickly pain
of unspoken blame
and
incongruence.

Eric Vance Walton

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Sort:  

Sounds like some "rough water sailing"... hope things work out for the best.

Lol. Thanks @sultnpapper but this isn’t anything inspired by my current reality. It’s about something that happened (thankfully) in the past. Hope you’re having a good week so far!

I was a little concerned in reading that poem... glad to hear all is well. Things are moving along just fine for me ; had a busy hectic weekend but I managed to get everything pretty much in order including all the "ducks in a row".

Thank you man! I have heard there's a huge increase in divorces during this quarantine but, thankfully, we aren't among the numbers. : ) I'm glad to hear it was a productive weekend! That always makes you feel better. I finally got around to disassembling the bike wheels. I just dropped the new rims, spokes, etc to the wheel-builder this morning. He's going to lace the new hubs and I should have the new wheels in about a week.

I think the potential exists for quite a "baby boom" coming as well later on this November through January. The courts and delivery rooms will be quite busy I'd suspect as an after effect of this COVID19 shutdown.
Good that you found a bike shop that can do your wheels...good that he survived too. Lots of businesses here have gone belly up because of this situation.
Texas is starting to recover and more businesses that were ordered "closed" have been allowed to re-open, but with major restrictions. I heard that Penn. is ordered shut down for another 30 days, the people there need to read up on civil disobedience and start making a stand for their freedom and liberty.

Yeah, I think another baby boom is likely to happen too. I bet at-home deliveries will become more common. People won't want to be delivering their babies in hospitals with this virus scare still going on.

The guy operates a bike shop out of his garage but has a great reputation for wheel building. I belong to a Vintage Raleigh group and a lot of other members recommended him. There was an old timer (probably in his 80's) in the neighborhood I grew up in that ran a bike shop out of his garage back in the 1980's so it brought back lots of good memories. I chatted with him for a while and he really seemed to know his stuff. Fingers are crossed that he gets them done sooner rather than later. I'm missing the bike already.

California has extended through Aug 1st and our governor is expected to announce today another 30 day extension for us. I just don't understand how they think people who have lost their incomes and small businesses can afford to continue on like this. We're going to see many more protests in the coming months.

In the meantime both parties continue to bicker about how to best address the stimulus that people so sorely need to survive. My wife and I wonder why people whose income has continued uninterrupted through all this are even getting the checks? People who can work from home are probably better off because they aren't spending money on gasoline, restaurants, etc. It seems like that money would be better spend on those who've lost their incomes due to the stay at home provisions, hazard pay for essential workers, and small businesses. As usual, it makes no sense.

Beautiful. Reading through your work now, you've got some serious talent.

Thank you, I really appreciate that.

How much feeling do these lines hold dear friend @ericvancewalton. I love the gift you have to write.
I wish you a great week

Thank you @jlufer! I hope you're having a great week as well!

Another nice one. I really like the word Serendipitous. It reminds me of a TV show I loved when I was a kid called Probe. The guy had a company called Serendip. It was kind of like the original version of the show Scorpion that was just out a while ago. Sadly it only lasted about a season.

Thanks! I found this one deep in my archives. I wrote it about a disastrous relationship I had nearly 30 years ago before I moved to Minnesota. I learned a lot so I guess it wasn't a complete loss. Lol. I've never heard of that show! What timeframe was it on?

Oh man, it had to be like the 80's or early 90's. I was a kid and it was only one for one season. It had Parker Stevenson on it who at some point had a gig on Baywatch.

The poetry is all about expression I.e. expressing a thought thorough the words a d you have done a wonderful job in expressing it.

That universe is all what we wanna get inside :) ....
beautifully written thanks for sharing this :D

Life is amazing when you allow yourself into that zone. It's not always easy to maintain though. Thank you @blazing!

Life is all about stepping out of that comfort zone :)

Nice lyrics and full of positivity

sometimes the mystery behind this life tend to create fear itself
nice poem

Thanks, man! I appreciate it.