THE SECRETS SHE SPEAKS

in #poetry2 years ago (edited)

Never do we truly
see our own faces,
at best we catch crude,
cursory reflections--
in the water’s stillness,
in a storefront window,
or the unwitting expression
of a stranger.

The insanity
we live amidst
leaves us numb--
thuggery, subterfuge,
a breakneck pace
that stifles our souls
in an infinite number of ways,
slowly, softly, but surely.

When we’re young
we mimic our masters,
mindlessly mirroring every
quirk and tick,
studying their nervous habits
and deepest desires.
We anticipate their wants
in faithful hope
that we’ll be seen,
valued, then finally chosen.

It’s only as we get older
that we realize these
masters of ours
are nothing to idolize.
They are sick, wounded, weak,
and live their lives in constant fear.
Their only wish is that they can
continue their charade forever.

They’re not in the
business of choosing,
but of fooling,
and using up every ounce
of us until our souls are
as arid and dusty
as the desert winds.

But there is another way,
we don’t have to lose ourselves,
we can choose ourselves
and be cleansed
in a sea of equanimity,
springing forth from the salty brine
reacquainted with exactly
who it is we really are.

Embrace this war torn
world’s deep diversity
in stark relief,
there is hope that
we’ll find all we seek
in the arms of our Mother,
this enchanting Universe.
If we would only
sit in stillness long enough
to hear the secrets she speaks.

-EVW-

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com.)


alt text

Poetry should move us, it should change us, it should glitch our brains, shift our moods to another frequency. Poetry should evoke feelings of melancholy, whimsy, it should remind us what it feels like to be in love, or cause us to think about something in a completely different way. I view poetry, and all art really, as a temporary and fragile bridge between our world and a more pure and refined one. This is a world we could bring into creation if enough of us believed in it. This book is ephemera, destined to end up forgotten, lingering on some dusty shelf or tucked away in a dark attic. Yet the words, they will live on in memory. I hope these words become a part of you, bubble up into your memory when you least expect them to and make you feel a little more alive.

Pick up a copy of Ephemera today on Amazon.



alt text

Most of us have experienced a moment of perfect peace at least once in our lives. In these moments we lose ourselves and feel connected to everything. I call these mindful moments. Words can’t describe how complete they make us feel.

These moments are usually fragile, evaporating in seconds. What if there was a way to train your mind to experience more of them? It’s deceptively easy and requires nothing more than a subtle shift in mindset. My new book, Mindful Moments, will teach you to be much more content despite the chaos and imperfect circumstances continuing to unfold around you. Upgrade your life experience today for only $15.99 on Amazon.com.



Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

So beautiful and a true reflection of the world we live in. xxxx

Thank you! : )

Dear @ericvancewalton,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Hey @acrcange, I just voted! Thank you!

Thank you for your support @ericvancewalton, really appreciate it! 👍

Beautiful.... This feels like the musing of someone who lived an eventful experience in the past and now they're reminiscing everything that happened. It was quite narrative and beautiful. I was taking notice of the alliteration and how it create a vocal and pictural aesthetics.

Well done, I think I should go back to writing as well.

I really miss those days of your poetry boss

It's been really long, but lot of people on hive aren't fan of poetry at all.

That's true though

Thank you. When I was writing this I was just thinking about how all of life's fallacies start to fall away as we age.

Reading your poetry reminds me of my childhood. When I was little I always imitated everything I encountered in my environment. It was only now that I realized that my childhood role models weren't all true. Life experience is the best teacher. Have a nice day, Eric..

You are so right, life experience is the best teacher. It separates the truth from the fiction! Have a wonderful week, Eliana!

If we would only
sit in stillness long enough
to hear the secrets she speaks.

But nowadays most people do not sit in stillness. They run almost all day every day. Almost the whole world is running/rushing. This is in the lifestyle of many (maybe most) people.

You're right, there are more distractions that ever. Most people's attention spans are so short they can't even focus on a simple conversation, let alone having enough concentration to sit in meditation.

How relevant this is to the turmoil in today's universe. A handful of foolers lording over the fooled. I love it!

Thank you Tamara! I really do believe this is how it's always been to some degree. It's in the best interest of those who hold power to keep up the facade. It's probably more extreme now than ever.

This is a really nice poem.

The third and fourth stanza caught me the most.

Beautiful piece.. I love it

It’s only as we get older
that we realize these
masters of ours
are nothing to idolize.
They are sick, wounded, weak,
and live their lives in constant fear.
Their only wish is that they can
continue their charade forever.

I think as we get older we realize that our ancestors lived in vain. Hard to find one to idolize because they lived a monoton life. I think what we should do is to do the better in ever aspect of life.

Maybe, in some ways, our ancestors triumph when their distant relatives achieve enlightenment? Their DNA lives in us, after all. We are the culmination of all those who came before us.

Right, we have their DNA lives, but I think they won't inherit in the same way forever.

Loving this, thanks

Glad you enjoyed it!

The really is amazing and fact about what is really happening in our world today which probably I can relate with the poem shared. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading!

Every word said on this is really meaningful and very much inspirational when knowing what it means in our daily lives.

Poetry really makes me think outside the box of what is happening as it take me to another world entirely

Thanks, it's an escape for me as well as I'm writing it.

Glad to know it is for you

In this era, anyone can be a leader. There are youth leaders, sports leaders, economic leaders, social leaders. Social platforms have served to create idols with feet of clay. We try to imitate them, to be and do what they do, losing our essence. In that sense we are sheep in the same pen. When we are more attentive to our environment, we lose what is within us: that which makes us different from others.
A beautiful poem that reminds us of the false gurus of our time, but also the importance of turning on our own light. Thanks for sharing, @ericvancewalton.
PS: I tell you that my previous account was hacked (@nancybriti), amigo, and they took everything.. This is my new account

Thank you Nancy! I'm very sorry to hear your account was hacked, what a nightmare. Do you have any idea how it happened? You're right, all it takes to be a leader in this modern age is charisma and the proper connections.

In Venezuela there are many internet problems and I had to work at a friend's house. I left the passwords on his computer. Two weeks ago a fierce virus entered his computer and hacked everything. He also had his account hacked, but he was able to recover it. I couldn't do it because I hadn't changed the keys and my passwords were Steemit's password. The whole thing has been a nightmare. Yesterday, a guy recommended me to talk to @arcange because he could suddenly help me. I just left him a message to see what he can do. I'm praying to God he can help me

I'm so sorry to hear that! That's happened to a handful of people I know throughout the past six years. I hope it can be recovered.

Every time I read your article, my vocabulary bank expands. That is also why I used to allocate my reserve time to read it thoroughly and not just have cursory looks, because unless I engage deeply I can not seep through these emotions of the author.

The choice of words is always rich and ornamental, you are a celebrated one for me.

But there is another way,
we don’t have to lose ourselves,
we can choose ourselves
and be cleansed
in a sea of equanimity,

It has deep meaning and it can really be that pill the whole of mankind needs at least once in their lifetime. In this complex world, we need it more often than once.

Thank you and I'm glad you enjoy the poetry, @milaan. It's a labor of love for me.

The poem is really well written and the gif is cool too.
Keep up the good work

The universe is always speaking but humans, we are caught up in our own ways of deception and conjuring things up out of thin air. This is another masterpiece from you sir and I am not surprised. I need to come for more lessons hahaha...you will make bread on the day of the lesson hahaha. Well done sir.

A great powerful poem with a great message.

But there is another way,
we don’t have to lose ourselves,
we can choose ourselves
and be cleansed
in a sea of equanimity,
springing forth from the salty brine
reacquainted with exactly
who it is we really are.