These Words (Original Poetry)

in #poetry4 years ago

My heart
knew all
the answers
long before
my brain
could
comprehend.

These words
are what
completes me,
even when
life tries
its best to
defeat me.

These words
embrace me
in the warmth
of sweet solace,
and I glow again
they wind
me up and
I go again.

I echo
my thanks
to the
Heavens for
these words.

~Eric Vance Walton~

(Gifs sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

hello dear friend @ericvancewalton good night
What a beautiful composition you give us today, and I must tell you that the heart is always faster than our brain, if we are kind-hearted, we will always have the best answers.
I appreciate that you let us know this beautiful poem.
have a wonderful night dear friend

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I appreciate the support!

I remembered with this poem what my grandmother always said: "the feet walk where the heart leans". Man is the only being who knows "who knows". That knowledge does not come from books, but from within him. Before the brain thinks, the heart will know all the answers. The idea is to learn to listen to it! An excellent reflection in this last Tuesday in July. Hugs

Thank you, Nancy! I've never heard that saying before, I like it! I hope you're having a good week.

And these words renewed me! Great poetry sir.

Knowledge is indeed power and it's imperative for us to understand this. I love the way your poem made emphasis on this, it felt like the poem could continue somehow, but then the conciseness and the images painted were well aligned. I enjoyed reading this.

Thanks Jose! I've been reading a lot more during the pandemic and am realizing how much I missed it. Fiction can open up your imagination to new worlds when your feet have to stay planted on the ground. I hope you're having a good week.

These words
are what
completes me,
even when
life tries
its best to
defeat me.

i love this part. there are just some words that keeps you going. this poem reminds me of what my mom said to me before going into college about some 7 years ago..

really nice piece.

Thanks and I'm glad it sparked that memory for you!