Under The Blue Skies, On That Open Road (Original Poetry)

in #poetry3 years ago (edited)

It has
struck me
to my very core,
the root concept
of human life
itself.

Immediate desires
strike frigid
shadows that bare
no weight,
have no strength.

Lust lingers warm
for two things alone,
a world without walls,
and a life,
not so small.

Such an
arresting void
is this blank
sheet of vellum
on which
I etch out
the sanctity
of my dreams.

Soon,
it will be,
finally free.
I can feel it
in my bones,
our hearts
reside in
the hope
of our one
true home,
under the
blue skies,
on that
open road.

eric vance walton



alt text

Most of us have experienced a moment of perfect peace at least once in our lives. In these moments we lose ourselves and feel connected to everything. I call these mindful moments. Words can’t describe how complete they make us feel.

These moments are usually fragile, evaporating in seconds. What if there was a way to train your mind to experience more of them? It’s deceptively easy and requires nothing more than a subtle shift in mindset. My new book, Mindful Moments, will teach you to be much more content despite the chaos and imperfect circumstances continuing to unfold around you. Upgrade your life experience today for only $15.99 on Amazon.com.



Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

Oh how I also long to be on the open road again in a world without any restrictions! Our world certainly has become smaller with this awful pandemic.
Let's hope the worst is over indeed.
Beautiful poem Eric!

Thank you Lizelle! Here in the US, global travel is looking like it will be possible this Fall. That seems like it's so far away but I'm glad we're past the worst.

Not sure if this is where you were going with the poem, but to me it really speaks to how much you are itching to get out of the house and do some travelling. Was I close or did I miss the mark?

That’s it exactly! We can see a light of the end of the tunnel now and actually start planning again. 😊

Awesome! I am getting ready to book another camping trip tomorrow morning.

Wonderful. It feels good to know that we're probably through the worst of this.

Oh Wow, amazing poem @ericvancewalton.
Brilliant, I loved it. Very unique and wonderful
. 😍😍😍😍✨✨✨

Thanks a lot for sharing this post with us and make our day so special.🌈🌈

images 4.jpeg

Thank you!

Please visit my post once,hope you'll like it. Actually,I started
writing blogs again after a very long time, coz of my studies and exam
. ✨✨✨

Hello dear friend @ericvancewalton good afternoon
What a beautiful poem, I admire how you write, I always imagine you writing on a white window of glass distributed with a pencil in your hand thinking about the words that will comprise your poem, seeing a beautiful garden of green plants with a fountain in the center, I don't know which one be the reason, but I always think of that situation when you write poems.

I know it is related to the trip you want to do, but it could be interpreted in many ways, it makes me think of a huge country without borders and conflicts, in short, as you say, we all live under the same blue sky.

I appreciate very much that you let us know your beautiful composition

have a beautiful afternoon dear friend

Good afternoon my friend! That would be the ideal environment to write poetry, I wish I had access to such a place. Most often I'm lost in thought in our condo (or an Airbnb when we're traveling) as I'm writing. So glad you enjoyed this one. Take care and have a great evening!