You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Old Hands" - A Sonnet by Duncan Cary Palmer

in #poetry6 years ago

Well, I have finally read this first sonnet, and I loved it. Our hands, I've always thought, keep the memory of our doings; they tell something about us. Mine are mainly full of cat scratches (I have four cats) and have some old scars from cooking and sewing, and soon they will begin to show more and more wrinkles and senile lentigines. You can't help those.

The metaphor of the sentinels is remarkable. You think you've been watching them, but they've been watching you.

The final couplet really summarises the issue. Looks like you know what you're doing. I've had a pleasant reading. Thank you, @creatr

Sort:  

And I saw you have haiku and limericks. I'll see that tomorrow ♥ I love those forms (I usually write limericks for children).

I am but an old child at heart... :D

Hi, @marlyncabrera,

There was a time in my life when I did not care much for cats, but I have gotten over that due to having once met a very exceptional feline.

It has been a true delight to meet you today. I've scrolled down through your Steemit blog and begun to savor some of your poetry from days gone by.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to read my sonnets today, and for your very thoughtful and encouraging remarks. :D