I made this

in #poetry2 years ago

Hello friends. I’m so excited to share my first post here. My name is Natasha and creating stuff with my own hands has always been something that I liked to do. It just gives you that feeling that you can better connect with yourself, it’s a way to process your life on a deeper level. For today, from my future posts series of “I made this” I want to share my process of creating an inspirational poetry piece.
Now, my first question was, “But how do I even start?” Well, first things first, I went ahead and looked for the definition of poetry, and dear Wikipedia went like: “Poetry (derived from the Greek poiesis, "making") is a form of literature that uses aesthetic and often rhythmic qualities of language − such as phonaesthetics, sound symbolism, and metre − to evoke meanings in addition to, or in place of, a prosaic ostensible meaning.”

So, “to evoke meanings”, good enough as a starting point, to create a personal piece based on my own lived experiences.
After staring at my blank piece of paper for at least half an hour, I decided to focus on one single line and that is about finding our authentic selves. As a start, I made a list of 4 words that came to my mind when I thought of the word “authentic”, and those were: courage, mask, real, self. Using these 4 words I created a short line, trying to use and describe it in a “more “poetic language. So went ahead and thought how to use one of the poetic devices out there: similes, metaphors or personification.
It turned out like this:

“No mask can hide your true self, so have the courage to spread your wings and find yourself.”

Now, I could’ve typed it on the computer and print it out, but wanted to make it more personal and handwrite it, although I slightly regretted it afterwards, as my handwriting is absolutely hideous.

Now, after having my piece of paper ready, I wanted to create a visual for it, so went and thought of a way to enhance my piece, either by using certain objects or a setting to go well and emphasize its meaning. This was the most fun, as I had the chance to experiment as I searched for beautiful backgrounds and held up the piece of paper in front of them, which turned out amazingly in the autumn context. A simple wall, some leaves and branches, a sunset, on the grass, all of these can add another contextual layer to your poetry.
There is no wrong or right when it comes to discovery, so after I had enough fun with random backgrounds and took lots of pictures, I decided to choose a small blooming rose, because when I read my line I felt that it would fit it visually.
To photograph it I just used my phone, centered the paper and moved the rose around and tried different compositions. After I decided on my final picture, I just edited it a bit, directly from my phone and that was it.

Thank you so much for reading about my first experience in creating my first piece of poetry. I hope that I have “inspired” someone out there to try out it also and have as much fun as I did.

In the end, when I look at it, it feels more like an inspirational quote than a poem but hey, I made it img_20211029_152538_1.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @mynatasha! This is @traciyork from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive - congratulations and welcome! And what a wonderfully creative and beautiful way to start your Hive journey. I'd say it was an awesome result for your very first poetic piece.

It would also be awesome if you could do an introduction post, so our community can get to know you better. For information on how to write an intro post, please check out the SELF INTRODUCTION section of the post 3 things Newbies should do in their first week on Hive. Which reminds me - you didn't mention how you happened to find our blockchain home - did an established Hive member tell you about it? If so, be sure to tag them so they know you're part of the Hive community now.

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities

Also, as Hive can sometimes be quite confusing, the newly launched Newbies Guide should be helpful to you, as it is a growing repository of useful and easy to understand posts about how the Hive ecosystem works.

Please be aware that Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog, so it is important not to include content that you don't own without sources (and it shouldn't exceed 50% of the post). For more information, check this post - Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise by hivewatchers.

Since you're new, you may run into an RC (Resource Credits) error when trying to comment/post because you don't yet have enough Hive in your account yet. For assistance with a temporary delegation to get you started, be sure to check out the Gift Giver site.

For now, @lovesniper will follow your account and we are looking forward to seeing your intro post. Also, please mention (also known as tagging) @traciyork & @lovesniper in your intro post in order for us to be notified, so we can consider your post for OCD curation. Lastly, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server if you have any questions!

Thank you for the welcoming. Got here through a friend, she's a member here also. And yes it can be a bit confusing, so thank you for the useful links. 😊