How Would I Best Describe Poetry In General And My Poetry In Particular?

in #poetry2 years ago (edited)

Good evening from Romania, fellow HIVE users worldwide and dear readers from both HIVE and outside of it! For today's fourth post here on my HIVE blog, I decided to write a bit about how I would best describe poetry and my poetry in particular. Therefore, that being said and without any further ado, here are my thoughts on these very important matters to me:

I personally perceive poetry is a metaphysical gateway towards an infinite universe of literary possibilities, just like prose, but more plastic, more abstract, and definitely far more artistic and even musical.


Image source: Pixabay

So it is that I decided to write poetry in an attempt to both know myself better (in literary regards, recounting some of my life experiences in poetical form) and to challenge myself on a creational and intellectual level, to the extent that I will know what must be known about myself through empirical lyricism, so to put it.


Sometimes I feel that some poems essentially write themselves. And, rightfully so, they truly do when you have the needed inspiration for them. Image source: Pixabay


Sometimes poetry can be quite well perceived as a lunatic chat (and that doesn't mean you're mad or crazy as either the poet or the reader, just that you have soulful, literary conversations with the moon and nocturnal settings, which I did and made sure to record my thoughts and experiences in my poetry). Image source: Pixabay

I therefore started writing poetry since late high school, primary as a hobby, but it was years after that I shared it with anyone else. I have the healthy habit of keeping meaningful things private and I am very discrete about what I truly love, create, and tremendously care about, hence poetry is no exception, all the more since it's my poetry after all.


The tramp poet's verse. Very wise indeed. Image source: Pixabay


Words of wisdom from a great book I do not know, unfortunately. Image source: Pixabay

However, as years rolled by and I eventually, very much surprisingly I might add as well (considering the many uncertainties and hardships that I've been through), reached young adulthood, I subsequently decided to share my poetry with the external world and so I did, firstly on the HIVE blockchain and then on Amazon, independently.

I had a first attempt to share my poetry on Amazon in 2018, but, retrospectively, I strongly think that was a technical and creational mistake as the volume wasn't completed enough and drifted off in the end in a direction where it shouldn't have. Anyway, if there's one thing that I can put the blame on at the time was the lack of maturity and the hurry of being more noticed as a writer, I suppose.

Regardless, fast forward in 2022, after the dreadful first two years of COVID-19 pandemic, I returned to poetry as both a refuge and as salvation. It is a very valuable and information means of salvation. I also found refuge and salvation through culture. And it proved a very good decision indeed, especially in terms of correctly spending my spare time after either work and university (and both at the same time, on some days). Last but not least, poetry is love, poetry is art, and poetry is life! Likewise, life is poetry, life is art, and life is love! So live life to the fullest by reading and loving poetry as well!


Love and blessings to you. Image source: Pixabay

I'll close this post off with a bit of a joke as well, for Wordpress writers, readers, and developers alike (I apologise but I just couldn't help myself):


Code is poetry, so true indeed. Image source: https://pixabay.com/vectors/wordpress-code-wp-poetry-tablet-1863504/

Last but not least, for devoted Weather Report fans out there (just like me), look out for heavy weather these days and during this summer, in order not to lose your hat as you can see down below:


Image source: Pixabay

Hats off, fellow poetry enthusiasts, fans, readers, and creators worldwide, keep on keeping on, stay strong, hang in there, and best regards from Romania! These dark times will not last forever, keep the faith and don't lose hope, this is very important!

Thank you very much for your time, attention, and readership here on my HIVE blog! I am very grateful for them! All the best, much health, take care, stay safe, many blessings, and great peace your way! God bless you, have an excellent day, and a wonderful week along with all your dear ones! Best regards from Romania!

Many blessings your way, all the best once again, much health, take care, stay safe, and, just as in the words of Ringo Starr, peace and love your way! Great peace and a lot of love your way, I might add! Have an excellent and most peaceful day along with your close/dear ones! Namaste and great peace your way once again! 😊🙏✌️☮️

Also, please don't forget to keep praying for Ukraine and its people! Much love, blessings, and peace to Ukraine and the Ukrainians as well! May the war stop very soon! 💛💙🇺🇦

P.S.: Thank you very much for all your support, readership, attention, precious time, appreciation, re-blogging, and feedback here on HIVE. 😊

Stay blessed, loved, well, and safe along with your family and friends! Cheers and please stay tuned for more amazing content on my HIVE blog! 😊

Sort:  

I personally perceive poetry is a metaphysical gateway towards an infinite universe of literary possibilities, just like prose, but more plastic, more abstract, and definitely far more artistic and even musical.

Salute @vikthor, I think poetry is the most primitive root of song and music!
Poetry is an art that expresses metaphysical sensibility that cannot be expressed with human reason through language.

Yes, I partly agree with your statement. Sometimes it can't at all, as it rends you speechless, other times it can be partly or hardly expressed with human language. I did my best to describe it with words. Reason and poetry do not always go hand in hand. All the best and have an excellent upcoming week!