I want to know what you think about the US Election

in #politics3 years ago (edited)

Straight out of the gate I want everyone to know that i do NOT have a horse in this game. Well, I suppose I do have one but since I have voted 3rd party for many years now we always know we are not going to win but we keep at it anyway.

It's almost impossible to not see the information about the USA election though and try as I did to not even hear anything about it, things snuck their way into my life about the final contested states and all the controversy that is surrounding them at the moment.

So once again, I want everyone to know that i honestly DO NOT CARE which one of these jerks wins the presidency. I have never noticed a change in anything in my life throughout the usual back-and-forth that is who is in office. I just want to know what you, people who are probably a lot more informed (or misinformed) than I am since I live 12,000 miles away from D.C.


src

Things I am hearing

I am hearing lots of crazy stuff that makes me feel as though the US electoral system is much more screwed up than I ever thought possible. I find it amusing that the USA is always too condescending and patronizing towards other nations' elections when they are clearly incapable of running their own.

I will admit that I know very little about how the elections work in the 4 countries that i have lived in now but these people still, to a certain degree, look to the United States as being some sort of benchmark for how the rest of the world should aspire to be like.

So tell me please, if you have some insight as to what the hell is going on with Wisconsin and Michigan:

Both of these states were leaning Trump until some last minute stuff was released

Or at least that is what I am hearing locally and when I briefly looked online to have a look at the extremely biased news sources that exist out there it looks as though Trump had a solid lead in both until the end.

Of course Trump (who I do not support- take it easy) complains that these ballots are illegitimate and the Biden (who i do not support - take it easy) side says that it is exactly the way it should be.

But no matter which side of all of this crap you sit on, doesn't it seem awfully suspicious when 11th hour votes come rolling in?


src

It was also reported (again, from what little I read) that 3.3 million ballots were collected in Wisconsin when there are only 3.6 million registered voters. Now, go ahead and say what you will about this being the most important election of our lifetimes just like all the other elections that happened before them, but doesn't this seem just a little suspicious to you?*


I predict that this election, even if certain states call it one way or the other both sides are already mobilizing legal teams to the battleground states because they believe there has been some sort of ballot tampering - which in my mind feels like it is a very reasonable fear. Also, why TF is Nevada taking so long - only like 8 people live there.

Doesn't this all seem a little convenient that Biden (again, who I do not support) is 6 EC votes away from securing the Presidency yet those 6 votes just happen to be in the state that has historically been very fast on reporting a winner yet this one time is really dragging their feet when their entire voting population is just over a million?


This election is a shit show and it really doesn't surprise me a great deal that it ended up this way. I honestly DO NOT CARE which one of these fools ends up in office because it is not going to affect my life, or I believe most people's lives in any sort of meaningful capacity. We will remain the political comedy capitol of the world because Trump runs off at the mouth and Joe, well Joe apparently doesn't remember how to talk.

This election will be decided by courts... that's what I think.... How about you?

Sort:  

I feel much the same as you do about the shot show and the two fools competing. So much so that I penned some thoughts about it yesterday.

https://peakd.com/censorship/@artemislives/decentralization-hive-and-why-we-need-the-usa-to-collapse-and-fail

Still very much hoping for and anticipating being about to have Songkran 2021 in DaNang and Hoi An.

Hope you're hanging in OK. x

I can't really imagine any situation in which one or the other being in office will have any impact on my own life and of course this is purely for personal and perhaps selfish reasons but my apathy also exists in my seeing president after president promise the world and then not deliver on basically any of it.

Well what do you know, I actually live in Michigan, so lucky you! :) There is a really good chance that DT was leading in Michigan. This is the way I understand it: They can't start counting absentee ballots (like mine) until the polls close. So that is where you are getting the large dump of votes for Biden suddenly. It may look suspect, but it isn't simply because so many people choose to vote absentee this year due to Covid or whatever (I work away from my home city, so I choose absentee to ensure my vote gets in and counts). The election board went to the courts before the election requesting permission to start counting the mail in ballots early, but the courts denied that request.

So here we are. That is Michigan at least. I can't speak for the other states. I think the bigger concern is the fact that knowing what we all know about DT now, close to half the voters were still okay voting for him. I agree with you, it probably isn't going to matter. Nothing really ever changes. Until the get rid of corporate lobbies, the two party system, and the electoral college, we are probably never going to see anything different.

I do think the Democratic party needs to take a long hard look at what is going on and try to figure out what makes DT so appealing despite his bigotry, narcissism, and selfishness. The fact that people are so willing to look past all of that is mind boggling to me. I am not saying Biden is without fault, but it kind of reminds me of that old saying about letting people think you are an idiot or opening your mouth and removing all doubt. It doesn't help that the Catholic church promotes DT solely because of the abortion issue. That's a huge chunk of the population right there blindly voting.

if a ton of voter fraud is detected, it is going to confirm what I have thought for many years in that I think that fraud is a big part of the entire electoral process in USA as well as the rest of the world. This opinion of mind first started when Ron Paul was running in the Republican Primary back in whatever year that was.

The small community i lived in had basically nothing but Ron Paul signs up in yards, basically everyone I knew was enthusiastically voting for someone for the first time in their lives, the lines were long for a primary and people were all chanting "Ron Paul, Ron Paul, Ron Paul" while waiting. Then the results were released the next day and Ron Paul got 1.5% of the vote. More than 1.5% of the entire city's population was at the polling station at the same time that I was there. So from that point forward I started to think that votes may not even be counted at all and it is all a charade.

I truly don't believe the President actually CAN accomplish anything with the house and senate always blocking everything. It's just the executive orders that matter and the fact that they can command military power without the approval of congress to a certain degree.

I hope that the populations, who voted in record numbers (or did they? - if there was fraud) at least start to focus more on local elections because those are the ones that more directly affect their lives yet are the ones that almost no one pays any attention to.

I can agree with you on a lot of that. Especially the last part. My wife and I were talking the other day about who won what with our local elections and we got talking about parties. I told her I didn't think it really mattered at the township level. They are more interested in just helping the community. It doesn't matter as much if the township supervisor or road commissioner is a democrat or republican. There may have been some fraud (probably on both sides), but I don't feel it was anywhere near the level that he is claiming. His speech last night was just baseless and ignorant.

i didn't watch the speech, you can count on everyone who is making a speech (except for maybe Rand Paul) to be filled with the usual partisan BS. The good news for me is that i don't care who is in the White House because the way the Senate and House are ending up everything is going to be deadlocked and nothing is going to get done aside from executive orders again for 4 years.

Haha the eight people in Nevada. I keep hearing this portrayal of Biden as semi-senile. I don't subscribe to any news outlets (because there's something fishy about every single one) so I don't know anything about this. Even some people who voted for him said "it felt wrong" picking him. I'm tired of all the lies and secrets. Alien existence just needs to be disclosed already so that the worldwide riots can cause revolutions and topple governments.

I don't subscribe to any news outlets (because there's something fishy about every single one)

You got that right. This is the same reason why I don't pay any attention to them either.