Everyone's bad take on the George Floyd Case

in #politics3 years ago (edited)

I realize I'm stepping into a controversial subject, but I think some things just need to be said. I mean, maybe this existing on this blockchain won't mean much, but maybe it will. The truth is that the left and the right seem to be losing focus here.



Let's talk facts


Sometimes it feels like it doesn't matter these days, but it should. What we know about George Floyd is the following:

a) He did not have a clean record
b) He suffered from an addiction problem
c) He knew Chauvin personally
d) He did not have the best relationship with his girl

You could argue that these are obvious and thus don't need to be said, but I think their focused scope is exactly what I need to make my point.

I should also point out I got no dog in the fight. Being someone who's never experienced racism, I can only learn from other's experiences, and do little more than that.

But... Let's focus


There are three ridiculously stupid takes I keep on reading from right wing voices:

  1. He super high, and thus would have died anyways
  2. He was a druggie and his drug provider should be prosecuted, not Chauvin.
  3. Chauvin was not allowed to do his job, the distractions lead him to put his knee on the neck for too long.

Since I believe take number three is as stupid as it gets, I won't insult anyone reading this by pointing out as much. I will say this is the case the defense attorney was making, which shows you the ridiculousness of it all.

Moving on the the other two then:

  1. He was super high, and thus would have died anyways.

This has not been proven to be true. Yes, they were traces of Opioids in his blood, this is true. But the key word here is: "traces". In plain English: Not a lethal dose. So we can discard this excuse out the window.

  1. His dealer is responsible for his death.

Again, ridiculous. Is his dealer breaking the law selling Opioids? Of course he is, but that is not relevant to the murder charge. The party of personal responsibility is forgetting a slogan they hold dear here.

What about the other facts?


Honesty, they are not relevant to the charge, and that's the end of it. If you don't have a clean record, this does not mean it's OK to kill you, period.

If you are a junkie, even if you shoot up black tar heroin into your eye balls. It does not give cops the permission to kill you either.

But wait, one fact is easy to forget, and is relevant. Chauvin knew this man. You see, the whole "I had no idea", "He was dangerous", etc. That whole argument is a load of crap.

How is the left fumbling the ball?

Well, the idolatry of the guy is taking it too far. You see, George Floyd is not a hero, in any sense of the word. His life, and his death, showed us the ugly sides of our society that frankly we need to be aware of, but that does not mean that idol worshiping is the right response here.

I think the cause, the fight, if you will. It get's distorted by the grandiose speeches, the virtue signaling and the martyrdom aspect of it all.

9 minute knee

Regardless of where you stand. There is simply no way of excusing the behavior of the cop. None. He failed to do his job, he acted like a bully and will likely face the consequences of his actions.

In my opinion, if any of us are attempting to think of a situation to where the 9 minute knee must have made sense, we are wasting neurons on a futile task.

On a closing note: As you look at the picture of Chavin pressing the neck of a human being like he just took down a hog. Tell me you don't see his ego, his lack of care for a fellow human, right on his face. If you don't, I don't know what to tell you. Mind you, he clearly heard him say many times: I can't breathe, as he was Captain Morganing there. POS if you ask me.

MenO

Sort:  

Agreed. Especially about the weird glee on Chauvin's face that he has taken down a prize trophy.

Honesty, they are not relevant to the charge, and that's the end of it. If you don't have a clean record, this does not mean it's OK to kill you, period.
If you are a junkie, even if you shoot up black tar heroin into your eye balls. It does not give cops the permission to kill you either.

Exactly. If what Chauvin did was somehow okay because George Floyd was a junkie and in bad shape, do the people putting out this argument think it's okay to euthanize people? Should we hunt down those with life-threatening addictions and take them out?

The thing that kills me is that his actual crime was worth $20. For this, and the fact that he was animated and hard to handle, his face was smashed into the pavement and his circulation and oxygen supply cut off.

I live near Minneapolis, and I fear for what will happen if Chauvin is acquitted.

No, Floyd is not a hero. He's a martyr. And he stands for something. He stands for the fact that a whole lot of oppressed people experience "I can't breathe" as a daily mantra. They are not safe under any condition - whether they struggle with addiction or they're stone cold sober. Their lives are in danger for traffic stops, for being in the wrong place at the wrong time, and for jogging down the street.

I think your definition of Martyr is more accurate than mine (in the context of this opinion). Hard to see a flaw in the way you look at this.

Conservatives are too scared of black people and insufficiently scared of policemen.

I had to laugh at this line:

The truth is that the left and the right seem to be losing focus here.

As usual, eh? Just like two arguing teenagers, winning has become more important to the two sides (and their followers) than anything else, including truth and/or what is the greater good.

Anyway, I agree with your take on things. Good post. We could use more thoughtful looks at political situations instead of the typical tribal reactions.

I'm just curious at what point American society will get off this 'war on drugs' mentality and embrace more of a 'broken window' way of looking at things. Unless the goal of the system is to keep a large percentage of the population (regardless of color) oppressed.

its just good business practice.

Wish they focused on businesses like renewable energy instead of for-profit prisons lol.

They go where the most profit is. Nothing else matters. That's one of the biggest problems with capitalism.

would be funnier if their bootlicking didnt impact so many lives

laughing1.png

had not seen this meme, but it's perfect

Sensed might be an awkward word but probably no stranger than saying awkward word; I sensed that negative energy from the crowd being channeled into that cop somehow in a way that could be described as: I'm so sick of these people always yelling at me and telling me how to do my job. I hate my life. I hate I hate I hate.

As he's being pressured he's applying more pressure. They both snapped under the pressure. I'm not giving the cop an out though. That's pressure he was supposed to be able to handle. You can see the hatred in his eyes and I think that's a reflection of his surroundings. And I'm not blaming the crowd. What they were saying to him was 'get off' but he wasn't hearing 'get off' he was hearing all those times he's been given shit by the public, plus any other baggage he was carrying. All of that was getting heavier and heavier. That whole scene I think exists just to teach people something. Everyone needs to take a step back and chill out.

That lesson has yet to be learned.

idk how you feel about it, but i think that if he's acquitted, the riot will be the least of our worries.

This is a strange world. For some, there's no negative outcome. Both eagerly awaiting placing a man in a cage, or smashing and burning. Either way they'll get their way and be offered a chance to celebrate. It's so twisted because those are negative outcomes and there's nothing to celebrate; but it will be a party.

I have to agree with you on this one. No matter what Floyd did, he didn't deserve death as a punishment.