Voting in elections is an obligation

in #politics3 years ago (edited)

I have mixed feelings about this I have to say. On one hand, I feel like it might do good, because it does not allow for laziness to distort, if you will, the will of the people. But, on the other hand, if someone's will is not to vote, then it defeats the purpose.

desmayo_votacion_peru.jpg

Limited Civil rights


In case you are not familiar on how "democracy" works in Latin America, let me explain briefly. There are dozens of political parties, they do little to nothing to distinguish themselves, but work more like soccer teams. The joke would be funny, if not for the fact that as a citizen you are obligated to vote.

What happens if you don't? You may ask. Well, you cant buy a car, or sell a home, or open an bank account. You get the idea. You become a second class citizen until you pay the penalty. In other words it's male bovine excrement.

The picture I'm sharing on this post today is none other than a citizen pretending to be dying in order to not be forced by the military to work on a voting station. Why you ask? Because it's also mandatory. If you "win the lotto" for the "sucks to be you contest" you have to sit on a table and help democracy do it's magic.

I hope it's obvious I'm being ridiculous, but just in case I'll add this little parenthesis.

It's not all bad


I must confess. The limitations on how many months ahead politicians can campaign is something I appreciate quite a bit I have to say. But there are other aspects worth mentioning.

In most south american countries, the budget to campaign is given to the candidates by the government as well. Meaning that the entry barrier into politics is not as steep. (of course there's corruption, but that's another subject).

At any rate


This past Sunday two countries in South America elected presidents. Two countries who even though are quite similar in many socio-economic aspects, chose completely differently at the voting booths.

Ecuador has chosen a capitalist, an entrepreneur with a solid record of making things work, and Peru has gone to the polar opposite.

Who knows what will come of this, what the relationship between the two neighboring countries will become. But, if there's one thing I'm sure of these days, as the gray color sets into my beard more and more is that everything is a cycle. After the BOOM comes the bust, and vice versa.

Question is: Is peru about to crash or is it Ecuador? Where are they now.

MenO