What you've all waited for

in #politics3 years ago

The political circus in full display has really made everything perfectly clear, even to those who had not been paying attention.


img src

Without an ounce of doubt left in my bones, I can say that Internet and the public discourse edified in it can never go back to what it was just a few years ago. Everyone is aware of the power of censorship, and how it's a weapon used against dissenting opinions.

Regardless of my political inclinations, I can't help but to disagree with the deplatforming of any politician or political commentator. It's really simple for me, freedom of speech is for everyone, or it's not truly the value we claim to hold dear.

Before someone tries to twist my words. I do not support, thus strongly condemn what happened at the Capitol, but the cost of silencing these so called "terrorist voices" is much steeper than anyone can quantify.

All this to say: "It's time for Web 3.0"

The true democratization of content, the evolutionary step that the public square desperately needs. If we do not take this step, if we don't move away from "big brother social media" we are doomed as a society, and I'm not being hyperbolic.

Who is to decide who is right or wrong? It sure can't be Jack or Zucks and I would be surprised to find anyone who disagrees with such a reasonable statement.

Out of all the projects currently in existence, it appears to me that what is being built on here is the closest to our ideal. This, my friends, is exciting, it's a validation of what has been preached on this blockchain long before it's current name was even a thought.

Do I believe Hive is ready, perfect, etc? Of course not, I'm not dilusional, but it seems obvious to me that the north has been made obvious to masses and that singularity is extremely powerful.

Sifting through the ashes of the political circus, the failed governments showing us their true colors, I can't help but to feel slight optimism.

Sort:  

Hey mate, how's things with you? It's been a while.

I see a lot of mud being slung around online. People saying the 'deplatforming' is like China when it's commercial organisations doing it. If the government had control like there then Trump could do whatever he wanted and shut down opposition. Most laughable line was from some Fox pundit who compared the Parler shut-down to Krystalnacht! Did she just hear Schwarzeneger mention it and think it was appropriate for any controversy? The Nazis didn't lose their Myspace after attacking the Jews. Here we are with literal Nazis attacking the US seat of government.

I didn't see much outcry when Twitter killed thousands of ISIS accounts, so the free speech argument is selective. I'm not saying what Twitter does is always right though as some crypto people have been cut off, including @theycallmedan. No idea what happened in his case.

Companies are going to protect their interests, but it seems Trump has been okay for Twitter for years and I expect made them a lot of money. Seems he just went that step too far now and he's not going to be president soon. Yes, he lost.

As for Hive, I think all should be welcome here, but be prepared for trouble. Will ISIS show up too? The front ends do censor where local laws demand, but anyone can clone them and even remove the effects of flagging. We shall see.

Can you tell I've been thinking about this recently? I want Hive to do well, but I care more about the creative side really. I don't want it to get overrun by nasty stuff and many will be put off if it is.

Stay well.

hey brother, well... I'm equally concerned with some of the same points you bring up. That being said, there's a clear distinction between hate speech, and speech I hate.

What seems to have happened with Trump, if I'm to be specific. Is something resembling online murder. Even etsy stores that sell trump merch got taken down. How does that make sense?

I sincerely hope that if we ever get toxic vermin on hive, the community comes together and downvotes them to oblivion, thus removing their reason to post here to begin with.

But, back to my point. What is the clear criteria for banning a user on this mainstream platforms. Is there one?

It's hard to say where the line should be. I don't even see nasty stuff on my social media (or exceptionally rarely), so it makes no real difference to me. Meanwhile some people get death/rape threats all the time. Trump has said some pretty bad crap in the past and gotten away with it. Maybe they are doing it as he will be out of power soon anyway. I still expect him to leave a few shitpiles as he leaves just out of spite.

Meanwhile various rightwingers are screaming that they have lost their voice on Fox and other channels.

No mention of Hive here.

Excelent circus