Questions for Trump Voters

in #politics4 years ago (edited)

img_6683.jpg


Tedious subject, but inescapable and because I’m losing sleep over it... need to Go There.

What’s with people who are voting Trump, again?

What does it take, after he’s shown us who he is, to set aside all his divisive hate and colossal pettiness and endorse him, once more?

Is it a lack of intelligence or compassion or both?

The elderly (too set in their ways) and uneducated (uninformed) I can almost excuse... But, what about the young and savvy: have they fallen for the propaganda, too, or are they simply selfish and just do not care about the suffering of others?

Is America First a euphemism for Me First and to hell with everyone else?

Do these round-two Trump voters secretly recognize the misogyny and racism and Islamophobia and xenophobia in their own souls and, in turn, excuse it in their Supreme Leader?

I realize Trump is a symptom. The disease is indifference, fear, bigotry... He just made it ‘socially acceptable’ to think/behave in ways that are vulgar, cruel and ugly.

Also, it saddens me to think that the worship of Money (by any means necessary) also plays a big part in Trump’s enduring appeal for some...

Sort:  

In my honest opinion (and I'm not political at all), there is a unique identity association with Trump and certain conservatives. I'm in the midwest, and we drive through rural areas on the weekend to get away. That's where you see the supporters...people have lawns/fields filled with Trump signs, MAGA signs, and even paint barns and houses colors of the party and paint TRUMP 2020 on their homes. I have never seen a house/barn painted "GO BIDEN," ever.

Again, not judging, but Trump seems to have somehow attached himself as the working class candidate, and supporters have bonded with him because "he looks out for me and is going to get them GD liberals good." He can destroy farmer incomes with weak corn pricing thanks to his policies, yet farmers still support him because he's "looking out for America." His ability to divide the States with his "us vs them" meme has been a 3.5 year long marketing campaign he has perfected. I honestly would not be surprised if he picks up four more years.

Just my very humple observations in this very small area of the world.

Thank you, for your thoughtful reply.

Frankly, I’m not enthusiastic about Biden and understand that it was suspicion of the System that allowed Trump to be voted in.

I get that he’s good at dividing and manipulating... It’s just disheartening that many are still falling for Trump the Believer, The Patriot, Champion of the Underdog...

lol, that's the best one he's got going on - a real underdog, lol. Connections to the mob, massive bailouts and bankruptcies, and yet people think he's one of them and going to "drain the swamp". He's an amazing marketer, I'll give him that.

Authoritarianism is always popular. Lots of people like having an amoral bully in charge. People cried when Stalin died.

A sad and terrible point. Coming from Egypt, I’m sorry to say I recognize the truth in this :(