Moving the Pond Fish to the Greenhouse for the Winter

in #pond4 years ago

Hello, and welcome to my page!

I decided that it was time to move the fish out of the smaller outside pond and into the winter tank in the greenhouse. It's early to be moving the fish, but I didn't want to wait until it got cold outside, that makes the job much less pleasant.

Before I could move the fish, I had to set up the winter tank in the greenhouse. To do that, I had to move 3 of the big pots that had tomato plants in them. The plants were done growing, so I didn't have any problems with moving them out of the greenhouse.
DSCN3753.JPG

DSCN3756.JPG

Once that was done,I put some pavers on the greenhouse floor to level the floor out for the tank to sit on. Then I was able to bring the tank into the greenhouse.
DSCN3757.JPG

I wanted to put the insulation boards between the tank and the greenhouse wall before putting water in the tank in case I had to move the tank for some reason while fitting the insulation. I don't need the insulation right now, but I will when the weather gets cold.
DSCN3762.JPG

Once the insulation was in place, I started filling the tank with water. I used rain water from the big catch tank.
DSCN3766.JPG

This tank holds about 100 gallons of water, so it takes a little while to fill it. While the tank was being filled, I pumped most of the water out of the pond to make it easier to catch the fish. This is our smaller outdoor pond, next to the front porch. This pond holds about 150 gallons of water.
DSCN3767.JPG

There had been a plant in the pond on a stand, I moved the stand and the plant to the tank in the greenhouse. You can see a couple of the fish in these pictures.
DSCN3768.JPG

DSCN3770.JPG

The plant is on the stand, and the tank is almost full of water.
DSCN3771.JPG

One last thing to do, I moved the pump and filter to the greenhouse tank. You can see it in the bottom of the tank.
DSCN3773.JPG

There's not much else to do for this tank until the cold weather gets here. At that point, I'm going to have to insulate the rest of the tank to keep the water from freezing. I probably won't do that until the later part of October.

Well, that's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

I still find it fascinating that the fish can winter over each year in the greenhouse! I think it was your greenhouse that had so much snow? Or maybe I'm mixing you up with another poster who has one...

Well, my greenhouse did have a lot of snow around and on it last winter, so it might be me you were thinking of.
I have to put insulation around and over the tank and add a bit of heat to the water with a clamp lamp and an incandescent bulb above the water to keep the water from freezing in the colder part of the winter.

I expect you explained all this last year, when you moved them, but I still find it wonderful this simple system works so well!

Manually curated by goldendawne from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!