You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PopFolk: Wagakki Bando 和楽器バンド (Japan) + 5 VIBESM contest

in #popfolk3 years ago

Whoa, first time hearing of this band. The guitarist sounds very Iron Maiden influenced, and that's a good thing. Always love a good shamisen after following the Yoshida Brothers in the early 2000's & their collaboration with Monkey Majik. I saw them live once too, amazing. Then the vocalist, hot damn! I'm gonna ask my wife to sing one of their tunes next time we go out to karaoke lol!

Seriously, thank you for posting this. I'm blown away. I haven't heard anyone incorporate traditional Japanese instruments with modern instruments this well. Really looking forward to exploring their catalog. 🍻

Sort:  

I'm glad you liked the music. I'm a big fan of popfolk and hope to write a few more articles in the coming weeks. How did your wife do at karaoke? I think Yuko Suzuhana's vocal style is deceptively difficult so good on your wife for trying!

I'm not back in Tokyo yet so no karaoke. My wife took vocal lessons when she was younger, even so I'm not quite sure she can do some of that traditional nasal singing. I told her if they are playing anywhere when I get back I am going to drag her to the concert too. I'll wear my cowboy hat and rock out with the glow sticks too embarrass her.

Are you familiar with the Yoshida Brothers and their collaborations? Wicked shamisen players.