Grilled Lamb Chops with Mint, Pea & Avo Purée

Beechtown Organics.png

Whenever Jude and I are alone, I will make our favourites - one of which is grilled lamb chops, peas and cous cous... but tonight, I decided to spunk it up a little ;) My mom @lizziesworld is a huge fan of mint sauce with lamb... something which I have simply NEVER gotten my head around lol, but I do love avo's, peas and mint independently... so I thought I would swing it a little ;)

This meal is so NOT complicated, despite the lengthy title. lol Essentially, it is grilled lamb chops, a baked sweet potato, some green beans and some avo on the side haha! But getting to the "technicalities" - this is what you will need....


text15.png

FOR THE MAIN

Lamb chops
A Sweet potato
Fine green beans
Garlic
Butter
Fresh Rosemary

FOR THE PUREE

One Avocado
Half a cup of fresh or frozen peas (80g)
Two tablespoons of water
A handful of fresh mint leaves (10g)
The juice of one lemin
One tablespoon of apple cider vinegar
Salt to taste

text15.png

Alright, so the first thing I got going
was the whole roasted sweet potato...

Easy as pie!
Heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius
and pop that baby in for one hour.
The end. haha...

When the sweet potato was almost done,
(approx. 7 min. remaining)
I just threw two baby tomatoes
into its dish, just to mildly roast them for plating later.

For the beans (and how I prep most veg),
I normally bring a pot of water to the boil,
and once boiling, throw the beans (or other veg) in...
and turn the heat off.
Leave it on the heat until the bubbling subsides,
then remove and drain.

This will generally give you the most PERFECTLY
"al dente" veg.

Ok, so - lets get to the purée now...
Chop up the mint...

3.jpg

grab the peas
and put them in a little warm water,
just to "defrost" them a bit before blending...

get a mixing bowl
and squeeze the juice of one lemon into it,
add the mildly defrosted peas (drained)
and the chopped mint...

5.jpg

4.jpg

and the avo,
then the water and the apple cider vinegar...

6.jpg

aaaand...
BLEND!!!!

The best thing about this purée,
is that you can serve it heated,
and it does not discolour.

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

Now Time for the lamb chops.

The oven should still be warm from the
sweet potato, so you just need to crank it up
to 250 degrees Celsius and place the tray,
pretty much right at the top!

If you can, try not to keep them in the fridge
for at least an hour before grilling,
place them on a roasting pan or oven dish and season,
with salt, pepper and and some finely chopped rosemary...
I added a little braai/chop spice.

10.jpg

Once the oven is ready,
stick the seasoned chops in and promptly
put a timer on for 5 minutes.

Once the five minutes is done,
Take the chops out,
stack them vertically - fat side up
and place them back into the oven for another 5 minutes.
(WITH timer)

Remove them from the oven and stand them
somewhere AWAY from fly's,
then turn the oven off completely and allow it to cool for a few min.

Once cooled, you can pop the chops back into the oven
just to keep them warm, but not cooking.

Personally, I like a lamb chop that has good crispy fat,
but is still slightly pink and juicy on the inside.

So that is the reason I cook them the way I do.

1.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

And they turn out perfectly,
EVERY single time!!!

So now it was time for the plating,
and I was wondering *how I would go about
dishing the purée... and then.... (lol)...
I had a brainwave! haha...

Yes, I used one of my child's old
medicine syringes for the purée hahahaha....
Macguyver would be proud!!!

yes, yes he would! hahaha!
Yes, I screwed up the first one...
(thats the one on the far right haha)
but the rest were purrrrfect ;) haha!

20180414_175540.jpg

and so,
that is a wrap....
and I have to say....
Daaaaamn!!!!
It was really good!!!
hehehehe!!!

20180414_181648.jpg

20180414_181547.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES & STEEM SOUTH AFRICA

Copy of lifestyle  inspirations.png

text15.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

A community of individuals who are dedicated to producing quality content
which adds value to the Steem network and beyond.

JOIN US HERE

text15.png

STEEMSA logo.png

Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa

JOIN US HERE

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

nice post.
@tipu curate

Sorry, recovering voting power 🐹

Thanks for trying nonetheless. Much appreciated x

nice post.
@tipu curate

Sorry, recovering voting power 🐹

I was waiting for this yummy weekend post...

Hahahaha glad I did not disappoint honey xxx hope you are having a super weekend so far!

I do love it, but why kill the peas that way? I like the crunch.

Oh yes I agree. I absolutely LOVE the pop of a pea! But like I said, I just wanted to try something a little different :)

I am soooooo coming to have dinner at your house one day... haha Looks amazing for serious. That is like some sort of Michelin rated restaurant stuff you have going on there. You sure you aren't a chef?

Hahahaha!!! Appreciate the 5 star compliment :) nah... no chef titles here, I just love to cook and I really enjoy the creative fun of plating... it is an art all on it's own.

As for coming to dinner... that would be brilliant but if we get to your side of the world first then I will cook for you there Haha :)

Congratulations @jaynie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10000 replies. Your next target is to reach 10500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

When I see this I get the goosies Lol.
Amazing what can be done food wise when one has that certain touch.
Delicious post here and all.
Blessings!

Hehe thanks @papilloncharity xxx appreciate the compliment. Really speaking, I just love having fun in "my office" aka the kitchen lol

Hahaha, unfortunately I, a master chef is banned from the home office my friend. I keep on wondering why?
But I really admire your skills!
Blessings!

hahahahaha!!! Yes I exercise that rule in my house too ;)
and thank you for the lovely compliment @papilloncharity xxx

Hahaha, I think that I should become a revolutionary and start a "Kitchen Freedom" political party for males only.
This equality business deprives us of our human rights and a primary part of it should be freedom in the kitchen Lol.
No hand washing rules, no feet wiping rules, no silly glove rules and I am sure that the government would like it as we will slowly solve the population growth problem hahaha.
Blessings and hope that you have a good week!

"Kitchen Freedom" political party for males only.

WAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! There is one already... its called the boom kombuis hehehehe!!!

Oy Vay, I smoked "boom" a long time ago, unless you are referring here to an external kitchen in the bushes. As far away from the house kitchen as possible of course. Rules you know; "No smoke to enter the sanitary realm of the house kitchen and all" Lol.
Blessings!

That's delicious food😋 Jude is so lucky to have you as mom!😉💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Aaah thank you sweetie!!! Some times I am sure he wishes he just had a mom that dished him pizza all the time though Haha!!!

Gorgeous food, I absolutely loooove lamb chops with mint;) Your puree looks amazing as well!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks hon!!! and yes it was pretty yummy, even if I do say so myself haha!

Yum looks delicious. Was childhood Friday supper. Lol😊 my Mom had specific meals for specific days.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would LOVE to have lamb chops once a week, but sadly I am the only BIG fan in our house haha!!!

Totally yummy chops. I must be honest I was not sure the avo was going to go since my family don't eat avo... every I know crazy, your recipe is great and gives option with the avo at the end of the day, thanks @jaynie

hehehe thanks hon! I am of the opinion that avocado goes with EVERYTHING hehehehehe!!!!

That sounds good and looks good - the color of your puree is very nice :)

Thanks hon! Yeah I was pretty pleased with the result too :)