The Weekly Zekely - Winter Lockdown Wonderland!


zekepeek.jpg

I like to pause once a week and look back through my photos relive memorable moments, remember the forgotten ones, and reflect upon a busy week. Sharing them here helps me live in the moment...retroactively.

You know, I DO mean to post this weekly. Then, I look down and it has been 21 days! Where does the time go? Lets check out my phone and see!


image.png



First up, we visit the pet of the week, Peanut. Last week, we met with our old dog Cassia and this week, we are into the Guinea pig home. It really is a miracle we don't have more pets especially when you consider me better half works in animal care. I need a little pb photography practice apparently and will plans to get a better shot of Bean next week.


image.png


IMG_0566 (1).jpg

It was not all cuddles and rainbows for me though as work called many times. This is the mid-January view from in front of the local art gallery https://gallerystratford.on.ca The work part is installing a vastly superior internet connection and supporting the computer infrastructure.

It is not a bad line of work when you can walk around outside scratching your chin and running wires.


image.png


IMG_6440.jpg

Work eased up so that I could connect with the local multicultural association. Here, we are having lunch delivered by a new local catering company called Howling Moon Aboriginal Arts and Catering that is run by a fantastic chef. The discussion of the day is a growing movement around convincing town council to formalize an anti-racism committee to help with education and equal rights.

Hopefully I suck a little less than other white people because I enjoy meeting and supporting people regardless of their tint or culture.


image.png


IMG_0599.jpg

To carry on the food theme, his baby is a fried chicken po-boy from one of my favourite clients Keepin' It Creole https://keepinitcreole.ca Who knew my patented Extreme Dramatic Close-up shot style would do anything but earn me tokens on @Tasteem? It is wildly gratifying to help a couple great restaurant pros launch a restaurant during a period where 1/3 restaurants in our province have closed. Especially when you consider launching successfully and immediately, employing another dozen local staff, and running up an incredible following of supportive folks who love kickass BBQ.

Low and Slow baby.


image.png


IMG_0617.jpg

I, myself, know my way around a kitchen having worked in them over a decade while in school. One of my recent specialties is panzerotti. Basically just a pizza folded in half before you bake it but damn are they good. The family enjoys them as well to the point where the we team up and prepare the ingredients. I choose all dressed except for the broccoli. I enjoy the fact the kids eat them and they are so nutritious but I will be damned if I support that as a pizza topping! ;)

The refreshing lady in the back is as good a match for this pizza as it is a segue for the next shot.


image.png


IMG_0573.jpg

You know there is gonna be beer to share during a busy week. The next beer blog, I may hang out with these 2 pretty sisters. Will they be more Lake of Bays meh or will they impress this Beerologist? You will have to tune in #beersaturday to find out.

blockchainbeerologist1.png


image.png


IMG_0641.jpg

A highlight of my week (or 3) was the #sublimesunday walk I shared a couple days ago https://hive.blog/hive-193552/@zekepickleman/actifit-zekepickleman-20210125t044125855z Not only did I score over 10k steps during a lockdown, I discovered a bit more of our small town with my little one. A walk of any sort is great for cardio, circulation, and mood but we had the incredibly Canadian treat of walking across the frozen lake downtown. The kids must be going stir crazy schooling from home and this was perhaps the best spent couple hours this month.


image.png

image.png

Until at least Feb 11, we are in grey level LOCKDOWN to help ease the increasing load on the healthcare system. Daily positive Covid cases topped out over 3k but are thankfully receding and have been under 2000 for the last couple days. Hope the trend keeps lowering so I can blog some bigger adventures!

Thanks for checking in! See you next week!


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg

image.png


I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png


How is January treating you?

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

That's a great idea for a weekly post. I often struggle for what to post (too many ideas rambling around in my brain - too many topics) usually default to the easy thing - my actifit post... Lake of Bays IPA are good. Muskoka has a couple of good ones too. Stay warm.. I think the cold spell breaks next week.

Oh yah Muskoka is partly responsible for my discovery and obsession with IPAs because of Mad Tom. Twice as Mad Tom is great too and Detour is a nice light but tasty session ale for summer activities.

Thanks for taking the time to comment and interact! It is what makes this blockchain powerful and how I meet the real people out there.

!BEER


Hey @jasonbu, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.