How did I end up here?

in #programming3 years ago

If you would have told me just a few months ago that I was going to be spending my evenings behind a computer programming in SWIFT for IOS, I would have laughed at the idea. Not because I'm complaining, I'm certainly not, but because I thought my programming days were long gone.



As expected, the climb has been steep. I'm no spring chicken as they say, but slowly but surely I'm learning the new ropes. I must emphasize the new, because back in my day none of the tools for collaboration existed, nor were the workflows as contrived.

Since the world has changed, and it sure seems like it won't go back to what it was, it makes sense that I dust off this side of me, I guess. And, since the crypto space is sure to flood every aspect of our lives, being back on the horse seems as an alignment of the planets, so to speak.

I will say this much. I'm not a fan of Apple, probably won't become one any time soon either. The tools are fine, they work as they should, but the technology is so closed, so "our way or the highway" is hard to really feel like you are working on solid ground. Tomorrow Apple might ditch Xcode, just because, and render all the information freshly tattooed on my frontal lobes useless just because.

When I first got into crypto four years ago, I did think about getting back on the coding horse again. It just made sense, it still does, but I never found the time to do so. I guess life pushed me in that direction anyway, and I should probably be grateful for that.

Sort:  

Hey, Meno, good to see you post again!
It sounds like you've been rather busy, but that's not always a bad thing.
Where are you living these days?

I'm still in south america Amber. I might stay here for a few years. Who knows? The situation in the US is not great to say the least.

hope all is well with you!

I can't say that I would blame you for staying down there, it's pretty nuts here these days.

Wow, have fun on your new adventure, @meno!

thank you Jayna