Onions, Thinning Onions!

What does thinning mean?

After a DM with someone online the other day, it occurred to me, I often talk about things I do in my garden that I understand, yet others may have NO IDEA what I mean! Let me explain one process: Thinning Onion!

"Why Are Your Onions So Small?" someone asked me. NOT a Euphemism, she really was asking about My Onions that I grow in my garden.

Above top: Back in Early February, I spread these Onion Seed over some trays of soil, under my grow lights.

Below After a few weeks, the seeds have germinated, and the beginnings of Onion are started. In later spring, I transplant these starts to containers out in my yard.


Above After a month outside, the Onion are tiny, only a cm or so in diameter, or less than half inch. BUT, they're jammed together crowding each other.
Below During June and July, as I need onion for cooking, I pull the smallest onions, for use. This leaves more and more room for the others to grow large. As I pull more of the smaller ones, the largers ones will become fully matured, in fall. Eating small onions and using them for cooking is fine. they are miler in flavor, but wonderful to cook with. And the greens are great, too.


Below: Similar, a series of 3 images, of the red Onion I am growing, form tiny overcrowded to space to grow and mature!


I will keep harvesting the smallest of the bunches of onion, allowing the best to most fully mature, to store, and for use over winter.

I am growing 6 varieties this year, plus Chives.

New to me:
White Pompeii Onion (shown above)
Red Ruby Long (shown above)
Utah Yellow
Varieties I have grown before: White Sweet Spanish
Red Burgundy
Red Beard Bunching

So far, I have been harvesting Ruby Red long, Pompeii White, and Utah Yellow. I will start harvesting Chives and dehydrating them for use during winter. Probably some of the Onion Greens, too. the white Sweet Spanish and Red Burgundy are getting larger, daily, and will make for great storage and use over winter.

Tell me your favorite recipes for fresh herbs!


Gardening To DO:

  • Pick remaining Chard
  • WATER, water, water...
  • possibly plant tomato seeds for a second growth?
  • replant spinach, and arugula
LOTS More to come, from my GroVid22 Gardens!


Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below... and a link to your garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy New Planting and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

1200 Posts.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngpostallmonth.png
130000 upvotes.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png




Sort:  

Oh I need to plant some onions, and soon! I harvested from three onions last season so many seeds. They are just begging me to plant them. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. As you mentioned, some people are not too familiar with all of the lingo and processes. I will take your advice in this post and try it out! Thanks.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

I think the variety level of your onion plants is fantastic.

I enjoyed the white onion and red, so, planting 2 kinds of each is a good thing. The yellow onion is an experiment.

You are a passionate gardener! I am learning as I go. Do you over winter any onions?

I havent yet. Debating whether to try. I grow all in Fabric Grow Bags and we get cold nights and deep snow, so, not sure what my plan is, this coming winter.