Sweet Carrot? A GroVid22 Experiment

Above: Harvest Carrot AFTER FROST???

I Heard Picking Carrot AFTER the first frost
gives you sweeter carrot.


A couple of months ago, I watched a video, that got me watching more and more, about Carrot harvesting. It seems, these gardeners were saying, if you let your carrot go until AFTER the first frost, BUT BEFORE the hard freeze, your carrot should be sweeter. Something about the cold, making the starches turn to sugars in the vegetable.

I love sweet carrots, so I was definitely going to test this... but, NOT willing to risk ALL my carrot. So, I left a third of one of my carrot grow bags, to see what would come of the SWEET Frosty CARROT experiment.

Above: Outside I head, to pick what is left of my Carrot Experiment.

We've had a few nights now, of some frosts, but no deep or hard freezes. Last couple of days have been mild, and yesterday was rainy. Today, at mid 50's (11 to 14ºF), I figured, it would be a good day to go ahead and pick the last of the 2022 Carrot.



Now, my normal carrot, Little Fingers Variety, is a nice, sweet (but small) carrot (very top image, on the cutting board, top right, roundish). The orange carrot were indeed sweeter, as were the Little Fingers, type.

There were too few Purple Carrot to judge, now were the yellow carrot big enough for a proper taste test. From what I could tell, all 4 of the variety I picked tasted sweeter, but not having a decent side by side comparison, it is difficult to know for sure.

I do know this, I use carrot all season long, so, I will plant them, and continue to harvest as I need for my daily cooking.

Growing my own fresh, healthy food locally, is better for the planet, better for my own family.



What's your favorite vegetable?


Let me know below in the comments...




Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid22 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png


postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngpostallmonth.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png



Sort:  

These are such cute wild looking carrots, I love them! I have a natural patch of carrots outside my house, but I believe the soil is too dense for them to grow properly (we have a lot of clay-like topsoil around here). Or maybe they are parsnips, since my issue with them is bitterness? Idk but they are finger sized and silly, I throw them in soup lol.

Nice harvest, I like that you attempted a carrot taste test of sorts haha! Thanks for sharing !PIZZA

yes, the soil for carrot needs to be fluffy and very loose.

Try digging in some peat, or some coco coir, to loosen up, down a foot so so, in that area.
If it's parsnips, best to just move. Parsnips are bad. No one likes them. I think they're mean, to other vegetables, too.

At least, that's my story and I'm sticking with it

Bahahaha parsnips can be cruel 🤣

In support to your idea, wild garlic is next to it, but the bulbs are quite small! Vegetable bullying is now the theory hehe!

Thank you for the advice! Now that our youngest will be two next summer, we are planning some big gardening projects in the spring. Think raised beds and new dirt are a must for sure! Will keep your words in mind !LUV

if you do deep raised beds, best advice I ever got was, to fill the bottom with larger logs, sticks and branches. Less soil to use, and as the branches and logs break down, they actually are amazing for the soil chemistry. simply amazing as fertilizer, slow release nitrogen and other nutrients.

Very interesting. I've heard that brussel sprouts have better/more flavor if you leave them out until you get a frost. Maybe the starch to sugar things is why.

Brussels are definitely a cold weather crop, so that makes sense to me as well.

Carrots among my favorite, for sure. i failed them this year. Last one was good but now I couldn't spare enough time and they had less water than needed to grow. Straight in the garden, competition is tough on the mal...irrigated carrot.

I worried about not enough water, too. We had so many weeks of drought, but luckily my carrots survived. Perhaps not as long as I wish, but they survived.

Están tan diferentes, incluso en la misma variedad, ¿A qué se debe eso?

Ahhh, hay 4 variedades diferentes de Zanahoria:
Una zanahoria amarilla, morada y 2 tipos de naranja.

🤣🤣🤣 Si, me di cuenta, lo que quiero decir es que tienen diferentes tamaños, las Zanahorias de la misma variedad también difieren entre sí en proporciones, un saludo

Ah, sí. Diferentes tamaños. Bueno, a veces los planto por error demasiado cerca. Eso hace que algunos sean mucho más pequeños que los que tienen mucho espacio para crecer.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 134 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 150000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 160000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@grindan(6/10) tipped @bluefinstudios (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!