Take The Good with The Bad, GroVid Update

in #proofofbrain2 years ago (edited)

GroVid22 Garden Update, August 2022

Early spring of 2022, March 15th to be accurate, I planted 116 Tomato Plant Seeds, in 14 different varieties. Of those, perhaps 100 germinated. of those, I raised and planted maybe 85 full seedlings. This year, as I have discussed a few times, we've had record drought.

Above: My Harvest today! Top left clockwise: 4 Sweet Banana Pepper (very successful this year, they love dry hot weather). Fingerling Carrot, Yellow Carrot, Purple Carrot, Yellow Pear Tomato, 3 Purple Pepper, 1 tiny Cherokee Tomato, (WAY to small and young to pick, but the plant died, so I am going to see if it will mature) Sweetie Cherry Tomato, White Cherry Tomato, 2 Blueberry Cherry Tomato, 3 Ruby Red Long Onion, 1 Yellow Onion and baby Orange Carrot, center.


I've spent the past couple days: Saturday and Sunday, at a craft fair, selling my images. I print them on Cutting boards, Coasters, Ornaments, note cards, and prints, too. It's been a difficult day or two.

TOO HOT!


One of the downsides to all the heat? Normally, the animals have plenty to drink and eat from around the area, but with this drought, they are constantly trying to bite my growing vegetables. This Spaghetti Squash is most likely going to rot, now that something has poked holes in the hard outer skin.

While normally, my hydrangea look beautiful, and a deep blue, this year, it is all I can do to keep them alive, watering sometimes 3 times a day. Good news, though...look below:

Despite many of the flowers dying off on 6 of the Hydrangea, and most of the leaves starting to shrivel and die off, a couple of the plants have really bounced back, and one even shows having a new blossom!


How is your GroVid22 Garden GROWING?


Gardening To DO:

  • WATER, water, water...
  • See Above
  • I just planted some Fall Snow Peas and Golden Peas, as well as some Zuccini, and Muncher Cucumber.
  • For Kicks, i planted 6 Beefsteak tomato seeds. They say 55-60 days until harvest, I have 75 or so until first expected frost, so let us see.
LOTS More to come, from my GroVid22 Gardens!


Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below... and a link to your garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy New Planting and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

1200 Posts.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngpostallmonth.png
9750 replies.png130000 upvotes.png185000upvotes.png
birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png




Sort:  

By this time last year, I was also harvesting some of the crops I planted. Sadly, I travelled far away from home and as such I can't be able to plant. Is nice to see what you are doing with your farm.

I try to grow for my family and for friends nearby

The majority of the things you planted was able to germinate,at least you can term it a productive season..

The tomorrow, the pepper, and carrots e.t.c are looking fresh, indeed the season is nice for the plant. I wondered what might have poked hole on the Spaghetti Squash, animals too?

I see both rabbits and squirrels near the garden and running around. Probably squirrels, since they climb things.

Oh! that's true, squirrels can do it, hopefully, it will not affect a larger part of the Spaghetti Squash

Your content has been curated on behalf VYB/pob curation trail.
You are recommended to use vyb and/or pob tag for earning the tokens. Thanks

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 118 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9


Hey @bluefinstudios, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

We got some rain the last two days and they are forecasting cooler weather. I know my garden can use it. We are getting a few tomatoes each day now. But most are still green. Our hydrangeas are having a tough go of it too. Race to the finish on the beef steak tomatoes haha

we are expecting rains late today, Wednesday, and Thursday, too
...that giant sucking sound will be the ground!

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 9750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 10000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners

Love the Hydrangea, Greg! It has been way too hot and dry here too... Record levels of drought in Europe not seen in... centuries? Crazy... so it wasn't just me struggling to grow stuff this year my side of the pond. I am really hoping next year will be better... not overly wetter but just a bit more balanced hehe. Your daily crop still looks yum 😋 What are those banana peppers like? !LUV !ALIVE !PIZZA

@bluefinstudios! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.