Making Lifestyle Changes

in #proofofbrain2 years ago (edited)

20220703_205938.jpg

In my younger years, I would not have imagined a day go by without some doses of high carb foods.

I mean, how would you even begin to imagine a day without sweets, bread, rice, pasta, yam, cassava, cocoyam, maize or sugar being included your meal?

Back in the day, breakfast, lunch and dinner were majorly or basically variations of high-carb meals, and we actually thought that we were enjoying. 😊😊😊

Let me give you a clearer picture:
🔶Breakfast may be something like, Fried yam , fried plantain, pap(made from corn), and sweetened with sugar.
🔶Lunch may be yam pottage, or yam with vegetable sauce, rice and plantain, pasta and stew.
🔶Dinner may be something like pounded yam or cassava fufu. At other times it may be Cornfood. These are usually taken with delicious Nigerian soups and stews.

Somewhere in between, we indulge in cakes, snacks, drinks and ice-creams fully loaded with sugar. 🤦‍♀️

Don't get me wrong, we get to eat eggs, meat, fish, fruits and vegetables also. But there were days these were not included at all.

I realize now that our parents stuck to that kind of diet because that was what the "experts" were recommending at that time.

As I grew up, I got to understand that a lot of chronic diseases and health conditions/complications can be traced back to excessive
carbs in the diet. Diabetes, high blood pressure, obesity, joint pains, belly fat... a very long list. This made me begin to search for ways to make changes to my diet and lifestyle.

I decided to make adjustments to my diet. I transitioned to a low-carb diet (ketogenic) in 2020 during the covid-19 lockdown. I am not on a strict ketogenic diet, but the changes in my body has been amazing.

At this point, I want to make some clarifications. I was not diabetic! I had no chronic health issues!

I made the choices I made because I know the old saying: prevention is better than cure. Now, here is why.

🔶My grandmother had diabetes and died in her forties.
🔶My mother's youngest sister was diagnosed when she was 22.
🔶Another aunty of mine was diagnosed in her forties.
🔶No one knows who will be next.

Don't get me wrong! I am a woman of faith. I also believe that faith without works is dead. The changes I made to my diet and lifestyle is my own work that accompanies my faith.

Since I made my lifestyle changes, I have discovered a lot of new things. One of them is gluten-free baking. I find myself enjoying a whole new adventure altogether.

Imagine making coconut flour and baking with it? Apart from baking with it, I also make fufu with it to go with any Nigerian soup of my choice.

At the end of the day, I am not really missing anything in my old way of eating.

Before I go, I want to encourage you to be intentional when it comes to diet and exercise. Don't wait until a health challenge appears. Make all the changes you can while you still can. Any new day we wake up to is a new opportunity to make the right choice.

Thank you for reading this post. Let me know if you got value from it.

This post is an original post by me @ngwinndave and it has never been published anywhere before.

The image in this post belongs to me, @ngwinndave, and is a photo of a piece of my coconut, the leftover chaff after getting coconut milk and oil, and also blender mill to turn the chaff into flour.

Amazing, right? Yeah, I know that! See you soon. 😁

Sort:  

I don't know what the ketogenic diet is but cutting out that toxic wheat or reducing them can only be a good thing. Good for you making some positive changes in your life.

Although Science bashes religion, we know that those with faith are far more tolerant and open-minded than Science "Believers".

The ketogenic diet is one that consists of high fat, moderate protein and low carb. The fat is not the processed type, but things like butter, cheese, high-fat Greek yoghurt, coconut oil and other compliant fats and oils.
I like the way @dreemteem compares it to an upside-down version of the 'normal' food pyramid that we all are used to.

And yes, @mypathtofire cutting out every toxic stuff is great for health. But it begins with identifying them first. Unfortunately many are not able to do this until a health challenge comes up.

Thanks for the info. That is very true!

Making changes in your favorite diet is not easy at all. You need alot of self control to subdue the urges. I applaud your efforts that you took as prevention.
Did you feel any changes in the body energy level after modification in your diet? And in body shape and weight? I am interested to know. Hehe.

Came to this inspiring post via dreemport

You nailed it when you talked about self-control @amberkashif! It is not easy, but when you set your mind to it, with your goal in front of you, it becomes easier.

At the start, I experienced some low-energy moments because of sugar withdrawal. but after the first seven days, I began to notice positive changes as per energy.
I have dropped about 2 dress sizes😊

I have dropped about 2 dress sizes😊

Woooh. That's great

Hmmm! The thing with Nigerian foods is that they are all high carbs and except you eat and doesn't get fat naturally or you are someone that work out a lot, our foods have a way of making you unhealthy. I'm sorry to hear about your family and the diabetes history. I'm glad you made the wise choice of making a change in your diet. I have been thinking of making a change in my diet for a while now but I never got around to doing it. I keep procastinating even exercising. I really need to watch what I eat because health is wealth. Thanks for sharing.

I know, right!🤣🤣🤣 Our Nigerian food 🤣🤣🤣

It's not really easy, but a girl' gotta do what she gotta do. I had to deal with my mindset about it. When every other person is enjoying Jollof rice, you feel left out 😊
As I am typing, hubby and kids are enjoying roasted corn right in front of me, but it is better I deny myself that for now.

Thanks for engaging with my post, @zyzymena. I am glad to meet you.

I wish I can deny myself but roasted corn ain't bad now. I think corn is actually a healthy snack. Why aren't you enjoying it with them?

I am on the ketogenic diet. And for now, I choose not to, not that I can't have it. And not that I feel bad about not having it.
I only wanted to share that I prepare my mind for the choices I make.

Alright woman! You are really serious about this. I wish I can have my mind set as yours. Wow! You are an inspiration

Your content has been curated on behalf VYB/pob curation trail.
You are recommended to use vyb and/or pob tag for earning the tokens. Thanks

Good for you, it is hard to change your diet, I believe in everything in moderation.
I wish you luck with it and I popped in from dreemport today:)

Thank you so much!

You are very welcome, have a wonderful weekend:)

It is good for one to make lifestyle changes concerning what we eat because what our forefathers ate in their own time was so natural unlike what is being eating these days 🇳🇬

Exactly! Times have changed! Thanks for your comment. I love it!

Loading...
This post has been suggested by @amberkashif and manually curated by @dlmmqb from @hivepakistan curation trail.

20220327_1550331-1.gif Click this banner to join Hivepakistan discord server.