Keeping Cool...

It has been quite hot here in East Central Portugal over the last couple of weeks.... mid 30s (centigrade) topping out at 38 on the hottest day.

I say 'quite hot' as we've been below average temperatures, and way below where it was this time last year, which was apparently severe.

This year by contrast is relatively cool - we've had rain late into the summer and there's still water in the natural swimming pool, which went dry last year in June.

The dogs have their own method of keeping cool, but saving having to get in and help the 13 year old (he managed to get in but struggled with the steep banks) out which wasn't fun, I've given the pool a miss - don't fancy the algae myself and chasing frogs has no appeal.

20210710_175751.jpg

What I have found helps are the following fundamental cooling strategies....

My under the olive tree office

When it gets over 30 degrees, which is from around 13.30 the cabin's too hot, so I've made this simple office under an olive tree....

20210719_115838.jpg

Nice and basic, a sleeping mat, a folding seat and a table for the lap top.

It works for all of us...

20210705_160650.jpg

Cinching sun sails

20210708_131255.jpg

I've got one sail over the cabin which gives me about an extra couple of hours use a day, and a massive sail over my outdoor table, although when it's mid 30s it's too hot even under this, so I use this from about 17.00 once it's cooling off, from around 14.00 to 17.00 I have to escape beneath my olive tree spot!

My hammock shade spot....

I put a hammock a couple of months back - it's there if I need it... (NB it's only a screen capture so it won't play!)

Screenshot_20210719-120632_Video Player.jpg

But TBH I've found my other cooling strategies have worked well enough so far for me to not have to resort to the late afternoon siesta to take the main heat out the equation.

Maybe when it gets to August and the heat possibly creeps up into the 40s I may have to use it, but so far it's been cool enough to live without it.

I should have just bought a cotton Hammock, I've got one of those in Aranhas, much nicer in the heat!

My lap top and lap cooler

Crude but effective - I use one of these thin ice packs, designed for cool boxes....

20210719_111558.jpg

But wrapped in a towel it cools the computer down nicely - I do find the fan kicks in when it's mid 30s, just with regular use!

20210719_111640.jpg

Fan, Water cooler and ice

I've got a freezer full of frozen water and ice blocks and I've found that putting one on a tray and running the fan over it cools the cabin down nicely at the end of the day, once the sun has dipped behind some trees from about 18.30.....

20210719_112044.jpg

The water cooler was one of my best investments - I use frozen water in bottles in front of the fan and as it defrosts I top up the water cooler, and supplement this with ice packs in the water tray.

20210719_115111.jpg

I'd say these are essential as the cabin vents the day's heat inwards, but with the two cooling devices I can be back in there from 19.00 with no problem.

Tea

Lots of tea - it's the perfect afternoon drink in the hot weather, two pots usually. I just wish you could get proper English Tea bags in Portugal.

And of course....

20210719_114656.jpg

I can overlook the skank when it's > 30 degrees!

Sort:  

Ice cooler wrapped in a towel, I might have to copy you there. My keyboard, attached to whichever laptop I'm using, still makes my legs sweat - gross!

I can overlook the skank when it's > 30 degrees!

Always overlook the skanks homie!

You know they're amazing - Two of them and a sweat towel is sufficient to make sure no moisture gets through and they last a good couple of hours even in 30 degree heat, enough time (just about) to refreeze the other.

Sounds far more economical than buying a tray with fans, nice!

Try putting the tarps higher up.

In Australia we had them 5 meters up in the trees; the higher, the better.

I just don't have the capacity - I only had 2 metre poles and they're up as high as I can get them in the trees.

But noted for future reference - I think cheap, light shade netting higher up is going to be the way to go!

My bush guide turned it into a lesson on how to throw rope that high, lol.
There is a technique to it...

Not quite that hot here, but bad enough. Our pool is getting plenty of use as it seems to stay below the air temperature for a while. I do need to work indoors with windows open, but someone is using a drill or something all day that is doing my head in.

I've hear it's been hot in the UK which must be nice!

Glad the pool is in use!

The drill I'm sure (hopefully) will be short lived, there's only so much drilling someone can do on one project after all!

It was actually a petrol hedge trimmer and it went on for hours! Arghhhhh!

hahahah you can overlook a lot of things when >30 honestly!

Your not doing too bad I would say, these would also be the things I would do for heat management I guess. And tranquilo and manana is ultra key I guess. Using the hours of the day differently is the best one.

Relax in there dude, I love what you did to the cabin. It looks comfy and cozy!

Hey cheers, honestly I think I've been lucky - it's usually a lot hotter, and the next 10 days it gets cooler, the year's running out of time to make me suffer - by mid September the days just won't be long enough! So the WORST that can happen now is a 6 week heat wave, they can last 4 months here!

I see you are really ready for the climatic change. Nice office under the olive tree btw.

It's a great spot, you really cannot beat natural trees for shade!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

The olive trees are what saves me over here too, I have some really old majestic ones on the land and I would melt without them. Lounging in wet clothes helps loads as well, also at night, a wet sheet to lie on works wonders and I always manage to get to sleep. I don't have a freezer so don't get ice, I am jealous of that and love the lap and laptop cooler I could definitely do with that xxxx

Ah no fridge - freezer,I don't have one on my land either, it's why I'm happy where i am for now.

Sounds like you've got it covered!

Olive trees have surprised me this year, i never realised that they are SUCH good shade!

And olives too as well of course, and tough things, my kind of tree!

It’s for people but for pets it’s terrible