Sort:  

This stuff is crazy, if Trump loses this election there is no hope left. I feel really bad for the people of Portland. Be ready to put your house up for sale should Trump lose as this will just embolden rioting and protesting, it'll be unbearable to live in the inner city.

I have to stay. I want a low cost of living. Plus I think we are probably more prepared than people in places like you for when the economy collapses. Some of our grocery stores already have armed guards so we should still have food when shtf.

You must not have a lot of equity in your home that you can't sell it and straight out pay in full for another home or a significant down payment enough to equal about what you are paying now. There are some stores including one Meijers store that I know of that has armed private security here. During the protest here stores like Walmart and Menards brought in fencing to put over their entrances then placed large dump trunks in front of them, the weekend after the rioting Walmart closed down for the weekend....so I know they have contingency plans in place for such events to minimize the damage. During the riots downtown where a lot of gentrification has spurred growth down there when the rioters tried to get into apartment buildings they were meant with the owners pointing shot guns at them...I think it was planned this way, same as with the court house and the prosecutors office building which is a few blocks from police headquarters, they knew they couldn't protect all three so they stationed police inside the prosecutors office, they could break the windows and get inside the lobby but they were met with guns pointing at them to keep them from going further. They stationed old police cars from that point leading to the court house I am thinking as a deliberate diversion to give them something to do like smash them up and set them on fire, they didn't get to far at the court house either, graffiti and smashed windows but no entry. What that all shows you though is when they were busy protecting their own the other shops and restaurants took the blunt of it. That is whats going to happen if riots start dispersing into surrounding neighborhoods...you will be on your own until some other law enforcement entity arrives as back up. If the economy collapses and people get that desperate for food they'll just break into people's homes when they aren't there to get it. My line of thinking is I'd rather be out where the people are who can afford to defend themselves then to be a sitting duck in the middle of the vast majority of economically disadvantaged people who can't defend themselves.

If I moved I'd probably have a mortgage payment which I don't want. I also like my garden and living in civilization. Plus we have jobs and our cost of living is low. We also already have security for our stores. I think places like California will be the canary in the coal mine.

Flint is a canary in the coal mine and has been for the last couple decades. One of the first memories of Flint I had was when my kids dad took me up there. The stores all had bars on the doors and windows and that wasn't even enough the people inside were encased behind thick plastic walls where you handed your stuff through a turn style. Visiting some friends of his one person stood guard at the door with a shot gun while the other person came out and unlocked the gate.....it was a whole another world there compared to here. It got worse over the years as the very last visit when my kids were teenagers we stopped for a family reunion there on our way to Frankenmuth and sitting in the backyard you could hear bullets ringing out from the other side of Dort. I asked them aren't you worried about that and they said the violence tends to stay on the other side of Dort. I think it's a bit easier for you because you don't have to think about raising kids in that kind of environment, if you had kids I think you'd think twice. We've had several shootings this year on our side of town which is why I've been looking, I haven't found anything yet, plus rentals are slow to sell right now because of all the no eviction mandates so even if I found something I am not sure I could get it if I couldn't sell my place fast enough. I am keeping my eyes on a duplex that went up for sale a couple days ago across the park on the south side to see if it sells fast...there's another one on the opposite end of the park from that one that is an apartment dwelling and that one has been sitting for awhile...usually they sell as fast as they get listed. The houses the realtor puts in my email that shows houses up for sale in neighboring suburbs/townships are flying off the market within a day or two...I think all this violence is prompting people to get out while they can, seems like a reversal of gentification trend.

Did you visit a drug house? Did your kids dads do drugs? I'm optimistic. The blight sucks but it seems like we have jobs now.

Probably. I was so naive when it came to hard drugs. The most my friends ever did was smoke pot though later in life there were a couple lost to harder drugs as they came to be more prevalent. It wasn't until I was going through counseling after several on again off again situations with him after I had my first kid that I mentioned I found it odd he spent so much time in the bathroom...especially if I woke up at night he seemed to always be in there and she mentioned that is a place of choice to hide to do hard drugs, whose going to argue with them whether they are in there so long doing drugs or trying to take a dump. I never did catch him at it, I never found anything but one time what appeared to be a small amount of a powdery substance on the back of the toilet. Still I never seen actions like that here, no barred up windows (back then, now yes) doors, people encased behind the counter...and even at that years later when I went to Flint to track him down myself because he wasn't paying his support that once I found him I called the police and said he has warrants and they told me if he wasn't selling drugs on a street corner or killing someone they weren't coming. When you make jokes about that that has been going on for a long, long time. I called the governors office to complain and they said they were introducing legislation, blah, blah, blah and I said what good does that do if they don't enforce the laws they have now....he told me to hold on a second and then he contacted me to a friend he had at the state police, they picked him up and chained him to a chair at the police station until they set up a way to transfer him via the county cops, Genesee County passed him off to Ingham county and they passed him off to Kent County at their respective borders. My idea of having a job doesn't entail dodging bullets to get to it...lol.

I guess the protests are "heating up" 😁

...yup, seems they are baring it all now.

Congratulations @mysearchisover! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!