You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 52 | Mental Illness – A Straight-Forward Discussion about a Non Straight-Forward Topic.

in #psychology5 years ago (edited)
Stigma, I think, will linger until science is better able to diagnose and explain psychiatric disorders.

It is a long and winding road my friend. And, as you observed, we've come a long way. Still, sometimes I feel we got stuck in the days when those with psychological disorders were just left to the hope that their medication will do it for them :/

A great advantage of having experienced being 'different'--I think you imply this in your statement--is that we are better able to embrace the differences of others.

This is touching and truthful my dear @agmoore. It reminds me of social psychology studies. I suppose this happens because of a shared social identity, "we are equally misunderstood", "we are similar in the way we are perceived by others". Empathy then unfolds naturally. It is beautiful :) If only we were all able to relate to one another through the identities we have in common rather than those that set us apart.

But, I have faith in humanity 😊

Thank you my dearest for your continuous encouragement and loving support. Your insights mean a lot to me, as they always teach me something.

With much, much love from sunny, windy Portugal.
🎔

Sort:  

If only we were all able to relate to one another through the identities we have in common rather than those that set us apart.

You nailed it, as usual. So nice to have you back sharing with us on Steemit 😇

Much love from steamy USA,
AG❤