You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 56 | Reflections on Anger.

in #psychology5 years ago

However, (for me) it can be the source of energy to apply elsewhere.

Yes, thank you, that was what I thought would be more correct when we talk about "using/transforming" that anger.

I very much like that you say "think" as "knowledge" is truly a tricky thing.

Where is the origin of your process? Your childhood? I am asking for I sometimes think it's not only childhood, it's probably way earlier. LOL. From psychology and the systemics in that field I learned that everyone can re-create his childhood. Ultimately everything laying in the past or in the future is a narrative with the potential to be changed.

Off topic: May I ask you to take part in my latest post? I would like to at least get in more people to give me food for evaluation.

Maybe I scare people off as you see me commenting a hell lot of words. But I promise, if you don't want to, I won't :) - give me the numbers and I shell leave it at there.

Sort:  

Ultimately everything laying in the past or in the future is a narrative with the potential to be changed.

The past is the past and can't be changed.
You can deal with it, but not change it.
The future, of course, is down to yourself.
( I don't buy into postmodern 'reality is just narrative construct' - But that's a whole other philosophical discussion).

I'll go have a look at your post now....Happy to help.

(.....it takes a hell of a lot more than words, to scare me! lol)

The past is the past and can't be changed.

Of course, not. :)

You can deal with it, but not change it.

You can change how you think of the past and certain events in it. Has it ever happened to you that you thought differently about one and the same happening?

When I was 16 I started to work at a photography store.
I was quite fond of my boss at the time, but if you had asked me, in my mid-twenties, if I had ever thought of him or associated him with some very important things I had learned, I would probably have looked rather incomprehensible. In my mid-thirties I began to wonder how he was doing and to establish connections between my individual stations and people in life. In this way, looking back at this particular person enabled me to make a different assessment of our time together. I think differently today than I did twenty years ago and also different again thirty years ago. Moreover, the memory of the past is not very different from a mental construction and evaluation of what happened. From the point of view of every age, the thoughts about certain situations change a lot. Whatever you think about your past at the moment always has the greatest meaning. The me of that time was completely different from the me of today.

I am not talking though about things engraved and unconscious emotions and reminders which formed this or that habit wich I am even not aware I do have them.

Do you have an example where you assessed something differently during the course of your life? Sometimes even so that first you thought how bad everything was, then you thought it was not so bad until you thought it was not bad at all?

Loading...