I dream of shitty skiing

in #psychology2 years ago

I dream almost every night and there is no rhyme or reason to why my dreams happen. My dreams are almost never connected to something that has recently happened to me or anything that is every remotely related to recent events in my life but they are almost always entertaining Last nights dream was a bit of a frustrating piece of nostalgia from my past and when I woke up from it, I was kind of glad that it was over.


image.png
src

It was my birthday in the dream and I had decided that I wanted to go skiing for it which is an add thing to find it's way into my dream because I haven't been skiing in over 20 years. I haven't even seen snow for over a decade. Along with me on the ride where a few of my family members and some couple that I do not know that had traveled quite some distance to be there.

When I was a kid we lived briefly near this pretty terrible ski resort called Massanutten and this place was notorious for not having enough snow to open all of their slopes. Their snow was usually almost entirely man made by machines and often a lot of this melts during the day because we don't normally have consistently cold winters in the part of the world where Massanutten is so sometimes, there is an embarrassingly small amount of slopes that are even open at all.


image.png
src

That's the resort in question: notice how there is no snow anywhere except on the slopes.

When we would go there, it would be very common for only a few of the slopes to be open because they simply cannot keep enough fake snow around even though they work all through the night to make more of it. I've been there on some pretty disappointing days and even though it was fictional, yesterday's trip to Massanutten was really terrible as well.

Virtually all of the slopes were closed, we got started really late and I was only able to get a couple of weak runs in before we were all leaving.

Then I was trying to buy some beers only to look into my wallet and realize that I didn't have any USA money, just Vietnamese and Thai money which of course they wouldn't accept in the dream. Not only that, but I got accused of counterfeiting money in the dream and the police were called.


image.png
src

Whenever there are particularly strange elements of my dreams I try to look them up the following morning because as it turns out there are a lot of people that dream about the same stuff and there are psychologists out there that have tried to attach some sort of greater meaning to the aspects of the dream. Turn out that dreaming of counterfeit money is quite common.

According to The Miller Dreambook, dreaming of counterfeit money means that you are currently facing deceit in your personal relationships in your real life or if it is you that is using the counterfeit money in the dream that you are either now or have in the past used "non-noble" methods of achieving success in your life.

While I find these things interesting I also don't have a great deal of faith in the psychology profession and feel as though these people are largely overpaid speculators or the witch doctors of our current age. If you ask me, they are the ones that should be dreaming of using counterfeit money.

Later in the dream, I ended up at a Metallica concert but James Hetfield kept screwing up the songs and butchering the lyrics as if he couldn't remember what they were


image.png
src

Like a lot of the dreams that I have, this one wasn't scary so much as it was a string of disappointments from start to finish. The skiing was garbage, I was rushed for time, I couldn't get a beer, was accused of a crime that I was innocent of, and then magically was transported to a concert to see a band do poorly that I have in real life seen two excellent concerts from.

I woke up frustrated and also kind of happy to be back in my actual life because today is bowling day and now I fear that my dreaming of bad snow conditions could be foreshadowing of the fact that it is always a very real possibility that the rather shitty bowling lanes we are going to are going to be problematic and not oiled properly. Who knows, maybe Metallica will be there performing the worst concert of their careers and start out with "Welcome to my Nightmare" or "Enter Sandman."


I enjoy dreaming even though a lot of my dreams don't seem to follow any sort of logical pattern nor do they normally have anything to do with what is currently going on in my life.

If you have had any dream recently that you would like to share I'd love to discuss them in the comments!

Sort:  

Sounds like it was pretty stressful dream. Not sure if you saw the post, but I think @intothewild had a much better dream the other day. I knew you were into dreams and I immediately thought of you when I started reading his post. Sounds like the people who try to interpret dreams and meteorologists all go to the same school! Hopefully this isn't a premonition for you and bowling turns out better than you hope.

I'll go over there and check out intothewild 's profile. Sounds interesting and thanks for the lead!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Usually enter sandman is a good start 🤣 whilst I was reading, the image of James singing jibberish at the stage come alive, I think he's drunk dude 🤣

A dream is a dream. Psychologically, it is the reflection of the state of mind, but then again, since its uncontrollable, I think it's very hard to associate with reality. I had a dream some 30 years ago where I go on a date with Cindy Crawford, and I think the only connection that links to was the poster in my room 🤣

That just made me wonder what Crawford looks like today. I'm afraid to look.

Or the daughter double. Wait, I think I don't mind date both 🤣

Sounds like you enjoy uncomfortable situations… dreaming about annoying instances like these would make most not want to go back to sleep ever again. I have a feeling that even though the fake snow and money was a letdown… you still woke up with a positive outlook/memories about everything that had just happened. I’ve had terrible dreams that I still consider great experiences afterward.

Skiing has never been my thing. We have Snowshoe near where I live. It’s beautiful and one of the fanciest places in WV, but I have zero desire to hit the slopes. The wind is blistering and I’m better on my feet rather than locked inside of skis/snowboards. Let’s hope I don’t fall asleep tonight and have a dream about breaking my ankles in deep snow atop a mountain 😜

Dude Snowshow was considered an extremely wonderful experience for us. I only went there a couple of times but it is night and day compared to VA skiing. I want to say there was another resort near there called Silvercreek that was cheaper but a lot smaller than Snowshoe.

It was very nice at Snowshoe, I think I just don't quite get the whole ski resort thing yet. The only other places to ski in WV that I have heard of are Canaan Valley, Timberline, and Winterplace.

Man you are dreaming of snow and beer and heavy metal! I must be weighing on your mind and you are overdue for a trip to Canadia!

I often have shitty golf dreams. I love to golf and end up being frustrated that I can’t get a shot off. Ball falling off the tee, rolling down a grade, or ridiculous stuff like shitty shots because the hole changes while you are swinging.

I have had 2 or 3 ever that are like being in the best movie ever written. Adventure and excitement and neat plot twists. Then I wake up and I am too lazy/tired to write it down.

Srsly come visit Canada again! 🇨🇦

I have sport dreams frequently despite the fact that these days I don't really do much sportsing at all. In those dreams it is always like what you are saying though, things don't work. Getting into a fight in a dream is always frustrating too because you simply can't move or at least for me, when I do hit someone/thing it does zero damage.

No matter what is going on here I kind of enjoy dreaming and am happy that for me it is an every night for the most part situation.