You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 63 | Loneliness or Emotional Dependency?

in #psychology4 years ago

While growing up, I used to think that the word "loneliness" was associated with lack of people around. But when I grew older and through the experiences I've accumulated over time, I've come to realize that many factors can lead to loneliness.

As a matter of fact, it is even lonelier to be surrounded by the wrong people than being left alone (my thoughts though).

Here's another thought: "Tech awareness" in this era has left young folks with addiction to social mediarism that they lay less emphasis on the traditional face-to-face relationship with friends. What can be lonelier than that? No wonder the rate of depression among young folks is on the increase.

Wonderful piece again Abbey. You did an amazing job here.
Much love from Nigeria.

Sort:  

I do agree with your thoughts Sammi. When it comes to social settings like parties and gatherings etc ... I much more prefer to spend time on my own than with people who impose their values and views on others.

As for the role technology plays in individual's loneliness nowadays. Yep, in many, many cases it does feel like it is a means of escapism. Either because they cannot deal with their own thoughts, or because they prefer to lose themselves in other people's lives than engage in self-evaluation.

I am very glad you liked this post Sammi.
And here we go with our little project ;)

Much love from Portugal.