How to grow your business.

in #pubs3 years ago

The UK has started the process of coming out of lockdown. I could have said: "Getting back to normal." but for those who dislike change, that will never happen. We've all learnt things that, in some cases, never occurred to us before COVID. It wouldn't surprise me if wearing a mask becomes commonplace as it is in other countries. Still, whereas eighteen months ago, some people would have looked perplexed at the mask wearer, I suspect once mask-wearing tails off, there will only be a small element of society that will mutter: "What they scared of?" and people wearing masks will be fairly commonplace now.

People will say anything to get what they want, and the vast majority certainly did not want to be confined to their homes. Along the way, we had such things as "I haven't hugged my gran in six months!" never mind the fact that they haven't visited the poor woman in the care home for over twelve months. The same can be said for dog ownership, something they never bothered with until it became a "Get out of Jail" card when it came to getting out of the house during the lockdown and then we have the "I haven't had a pint since this all started!" The news has been relentlessly telling us that the hospitality industry is not only on its knees but in a state of virtual collapse, so the news that pubs, for example, could open their gardens to serve beer came as a relief, or so you would have thought?

Up towards the town where I live (I say town, it's more like a village on the cusp of being a town.), there is a nice looking pub with the word "Cottage" in its name. I have from time to time thought, "I wouldn't mind a drink in there." so while walking Charlie on Monday, we walked past the pub, which was doing a roaring trade at just after 5 pm with the pub garden in full swing. As Charlie and I passed the pub entrance, there was a sign just inside the doorway, "Sorry Full", which actually was nice to see. At least the community was supporting the place and hopefully helping towards some sort of recovery; however, last night, as Charlie I passed at around the same time, the message was very different. REGULARS ONLY! was written in big, bold letters on the signboard outside. "What? Are you serious?" both Charlie I thought as Charlie looked up at me in astonishment. Sorry, we're full I can understand, but Go away, we don't want you here strikes me as shooting yourself in the foot! Pubs in the UK were dying before the pandemic, so every customer, especially new customers are hugely important; however, the proprietor of this pub seems to think that Derek, who comes in twice a week and sups half a mild in the corner for three hours, is far more important than new footfall. 🤦‍♂

Cheers

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://castlecannon.house/profile/srednivashtar
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

Hi Pete, nice to meet you. I am a tad late in my commenting but better late than never is my motto. It is fabulous seeing the world opening bit by bit. We have had an easier time in Australia with covid compared to other hard hit countries. But even in our place, businesses like pubs, coffee shops, restaurants etc have been badly affected financially. Mostly from what I have heard and read many of these businesses have thought outside the square by creating order over the counters and ubering food orders.

All I can hope for sensibility to reign, a tad challenging for some I feel but nonetheless let's hope.

Regards
Angie

I'm a bit torn tbh. On the one hand, I feel for hospitality businesses and the huge losses they've sustained. Pubs and restaurants have bent over backwards in the UK to create a situation whereby at least some customers can visit safely with some of the most stringent rules imaginable. I think pubs etc., may have been poorly treated when other enterprises (Supermarkets) have operated on less strict guidelines while having larger groups of people on their premises. Having said all that, I'm not keen on people gathering in a situation whereby after a few drinks, people, even under normal circumstances, are known to let their guard down.

Neither am I and absolutely agree at the discrepancies of rules etc. Like for instance, the busiest places that we observed rule breaking were the liquor stores like Dan Murphy's. These places were putting on new staff all the time. Amazing. I just hope and very irrationally perhaps, that covid will just go away in time. There have been too many deaths, too many survivors still unwell and too many facing extreme financial hardships.

I doubt it. COVID is something that we will all have to get used to. The bigger worry is how many jobs will be lost once the support mechanisms are removed? How many people will be made homeless once the block on evictions and repossessions are removed? Finally, how will everyone afford to pay the government purse back when tax rates skyrocket? I suspect vast swathes of people thought it was all free handouts. I await the Internet to be awash with people moaning about their governments raising taxes. #LeSigh

It is something I think about too. Unfortunately we see here too and I don't see any solutions. 😐

Seems a strange strategy. Maybe the old regulars complained they couldn't get in.

Judging by how few people some local pubs had in them before 'all this' they would struggle to get by with just regulars. I think I saw something about 5% of pubs shutting for good in the last year and they were in decline anyway. They may get a brief boost from people getting high on their recent freedom, but they need regular trade to survive.

I'm hoping there will be somewhere our music mob can play when it's allowed again.

!PIZZA

Exactly, hence my reference to Derek and the half a mild. You can just picture Gaz the scaffolder moaning he couldn't get in and having peered over the fence saying "I didn't recognise anyone in the garden!" (In a broad Dudley accent)

The pubs without gardens can't cash in for now. I've not actually checked on the one near me that has a huge garden, but I heard local pubs were busy. Four pubs and a social club in our village now. Used to be a lot more when we came here.

All the pubs around here with an 'open space' are doing really well. We have one where you basically sit almost on the main road, barely a pavement width away and yet every table was full last night. A pint and a dose of carbon monoxide seem worth it to some people.

Connect

Trade


@dickturpin! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Congratulations @dickturpin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 62000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 63000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!