Quarantined Artist - How I'm Spending My Quarantine

in #quarantinecontest4 years ago (edited)

3W72119s5BjVxiq1Y1uwG9EdbRJnvfPPyF5TaGfdVPSyT4h2r7uowroFrvf2NGocSUxNb9KFsN9xHJmfPBeNUTUNXvVDTko8azox53khhetWw3pfLCsHDG.jpg

hosted by @derangedvisions

image.png

Damn how long I have!

60 million Italians have a lot of time to spend.For a month now we have been able to stay at home without going crazy around the city, traffic, appointments, work and other devilries of modern life. I'm only sorry that I can't play tennis or go to the beach. Now I am at home, forced to stay inside four walls so as not to infect the others, even the schools are closed from March 3rd.

54TLbcUcnRm4Bw8fmw3Y3ebiYW61dkW16qTycFmKZpVQ3yfWY6Vp1M15DTvewbFGMS6vZ4Xf8WgcMZgqM75xUM6W39JxNtNKxmefF3Qhr5s7SoM98kgPq8BFCowV5GEWzPfKnb1xT.jpg
src

It seems that yesterday we reached the peak of the infected and the death toll is starting to drop, but always over 700 daily.

Italy is the most crisis-ridden country in the world, and for the moment the strong contagion in the south has not yet started and I hope it never happens. In Italy Social distancing and isolation at home began a month ago, and I have already written several posts on the coronavirus emergency.

Immagineccc.png

https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@armandosodano/let-s-wash-our-hands-oil-on-canvas

But let's get to my daily life distorted by isolation. How to spend all this time? Well after a good morning coffee, with the classic Neapolitan coffee maker, I start cleaning the house.

20200330_145934.jpg

I have been working as a housekeeper for two days to clean my house.

20200330_141939.jpg

Look at that cleaning in the bathroom!

20200330_142111.jpg

I am proud of my housework and so I decided to go and clean my art studio too.

20200330_114803.jpg

I haven't cleaned the bathroom for a month, and dozens of paintings and canvases have accumulated, with plastic bags full of paper and cans of paint. This morning I decided to put my paintings and drawings piled up for months also in order.

20200330_114752.jpg

What unwatchable crap!

I am throwing several drawings and someone I really think I paint behind, especially the watercolors, since the art shops have been closed for a month and the paper is not found.

20200330_123110.jpg

20200330_123124.jpg

20200330_123154.jpg

Amazon does not allow you to order paper and colors in Italy, the company is busy with other types of orders and deliveries. I am also considering which painting I can paint on, with new stories.

20200330_114833.jpg

Ok I come home, I walk 100 meters from the studio at home, for me they are the most characteristic of the city.

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovrcaLXhpJSN9p2VYhUKoEHnw5A241Dzzck7WJgHbpZBiKS1YZ4aMUH2kJwQYpnsDuhVmQQp2gaAXeqceSqSQBnNr.jpg

I will spare you my inventions in the kitchen, but prepare yourself mentally because it will be one of the next posts.
After lunch I love reading very much, and today I dedicate myself to a specific reading of art history. A beautiful book written by one of the most important art historians in the world Lionello Venturi, that I bought back in 1974 still in Italian lire the price.

20200330_142217.jpg

Do I need to feel beauty enter my mind and what could be better than reading something about Leonardo Da Vinci?

20200330_142307.jpg

Then I have a lesson tomorrow morning with one of my classes, by videoconference on Meet.

I prepare the lesson by reading something about the Renaissance, and I avoid making bad figures with the students ;-)

Cigarette and I go back down to paint something very colorful, I feel the need to create a summer landscape, with marine lights and bright colors.
Tomorrow I will show you what I did in my studio ...

image.png
src

Let's move on to serious things!

In the evening I am in front of the PC, and I suffer damned for the Italian situation, poverty has taken over the life of a part of the population. Some days ago you can see terrible scenes, on television and live on the internet.
People cry and despair in the street, in front of supermarkets, they cry out desperately that they are hungry and have no money! The police and the army guard the entrances and checkouts of the rare open shops.

Nowadays, in such a European country such scenes are incredible, how is it possible to get to this point?
Today the government has given 400 million euros to all municipal administrations to be distributed to the poor.

But it's already late! Together with my friends, we organized a task force via facebook and wattsup to make free spending available to people who need it.

Immagine2.png

the project is called Shopping suspended! Let's help those in need!
How? We buy something extra and leave it in the cart.

spesa2.png

We have identified a series of supermarket chains where we leave a large variety of food, soap, detergents and basic necessities. There are many families who are ashamed to ask for food and so we leave the carts full, so they are free to take whatever they need.

spesa.png

We started yesterday and we will continue until we start working again in Italy.

Then I try to sleep, and these days anxiety becomes your travel companion at night.

Armando.

image.png
src

Accidenti quanto tempo che ho!

Da un mese possiamo stare tranquillamente a casa senza impazzire in giro per la città, traffico, appuntamenti, lavoro e altre diavolerie della vita moderna. Mi dispiace solo che non posso giocare a tennis neanche andare al mare.

Ora sono a casa, obbligato a stare dentro quattro pareti per non contagiare gli altri, anche le scuole dal 3 marzo sono chiuse. Sembra che ieri abbiamo raggiunto il picco dei contagiati e il numero dei morti sta cominciando a scendere, ma sempre oltre i 700 giornalieri. L'Italia è il paese più in crisi al mondo, e per il momento il forte contagio al sud ancora non è partito e spero non accada mai.

In Italia Il distanziamento sociale e l'isolamento in casa è iniziato un mese fa, ed io ho già scritto diversi post sull'emergenza coronavirus. Ma veniamo alla mia vita quotidiana stravolta dall'isolamento.

Come passare tutto questo tempo?

Beh dopo un buon caffè mattutino, con la caffettiera classica napoletana, mi metto a fare le pulizie di casa.
Sono due giorni che lavoro come donna di servizio per pulire la mia casa.

Guardate che pulizia in bagno!

Sono fiero del mio lavoro domestico e così ho deciso di andare a fare le pulizie anche al mio studio d'arte. E' un mese che non pulisco il bagno, e si sono accumulate decine di quadri e tele, con sacchi di plastica pieni di carta e barattoli di vernice. Stamattina ho deciso di mettere in ordine anche tra i miei dipinti e disegni accatastati da mesi.

Che schifezze inguardabili!

Sto buttando parecchi disegni e qualcuno penso proprio di dipingerci dietro, soprattutto gli acquarelli, visto che i negozi d'arte sono chiusi da un mese e la carta non si trova. Amazon non ti permette di ordinare carta e colori in Italia, la società è impegnata con altri tipi di ordine e consegne. Sto anche valutando su quale dipinto posso ripingerci sopra, con nuove storie. Ok torno a casa, percorro i 100 metri dallo studio a casa, per me sono i più caratteristici della città.

Vi risparmio le mie invenzioni in cucina, ma preparatevi mentalmente perchè sarà uno dei prossimi post. Dopo pranzo amo molto leggere, ed oggi mi dedico ad una lettura specifica di storia dell'arte. Un bellissimo libro scritto da uno degli storici dell'arte più importanti del mondo Lionello Venturi che ho acquistato nel lontano 1974 ancora in lire il prezzo.
Ho bisogno di sentire la bellezza entrare nella mia mente e cosa c'è di meglio se non leggere qualcosa su Leonardo Da Vinci?

Poi domattina ho lezione con una delle mie classi, in videoconferenza su Meet.

Mi preparo la lezione leggendo qualcosa sul Rinascimento, ed evito di fare brutte figure con gli studenti;-)

Sigaretta e torno giù a dipingere qualcosa di molto colorato, sento l'esigenza di creare un paesaggio estivo, con luci marine e colori brillanti.
Domani vi mostrerò cosa ho combinato nel mio studio...

La sera sono davanti al pc, e soffro maledettamente per la situazione italiana, la povertà si è impadronita della vita di una parte della popolazione.

Da qualche giono si vedono scene terribili, in televisione e sulle dirette in internet.
Le persone piangono e si disperano in strada, davanti ai supermercati, urlano disperate che hanno fame e non hanno i soldi!
La polizia e l'esercito presidiano le entrate e le casse dei rari negozi aperti.
Al giorno d'oggi, in un paese europeo scene del genere sono incredibili, com'è possibile arrivare a questo punto?

Oggi il governo ha dato 400 milioni di euro a tutte le amministrazioni comunali da ditribuire ai poveri.

Ma è già tardi!

Insieme ai miei amici abbiamo organizzato via facebook e wattsup una task force per la messa a disposizione di spesa gratuita alle persone che ne hanno bisogno.

Abbiamo individuato una serie di catene di supermercati dove noi lasciamo una grande varietà di generi alimentari, sapone, detersivi e generi di prima necessità.
Ci sono molte famiglie che provano vergogna a chiedere da mangiare e allora lasciamo i carrelli pieni, così sono liberi di prendere qualsiasi cosa necessitano.

Abbiamo iniziato ieri e andremo avanti fino a quando in Italia non si ricomincia a lavorare.

Poi provo a dormire, e di questi tempi l'ansia diventa il tuo compagno di viaggio, la notte.

Armando.

image.png

my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/armando.sodano

separatore 2.jpg

my web site

my channel

Art teacher
Curator of cultural activities
Artistic director and President of the Cultural Association "I Colori della Vita"

https://www.icoloridellavita.life/

and "Fuori Controllo" Festival
https://www.facebook.com/fuoricontrollofestival/
52788213_360561581203076_4385646485253914624_o.jpg




separatore 2.jpg

Sort:  

I feel for you @armandosodano and poor Italy as well. It seems that here in the USA we are now also becoming an epicenter and stand to get large numbers as your country has. It is scary, but mainly I'm a bit of a self quarantiner anyway, though now when I need to food shop I do it maybe once every 10 days and go quickly in and out.

Luckily we live in the country and by the sea, so we are a bit more isolated. Our area is mainly homes used only in the Summer by people who live all over the country and many of them have returned to their Summer homes now to 'wait out the virus' so we say hello if we meet but mainly most are just sticking to their own bits of land, simply waving to one another. One doesn't know what one brings with them.

I am getting back in to the studio much more, thank goodness, and I am upping my garden game and making a New larger vegetable garden and I have my chickens and my quail, so those keep me amused and fed too.

Stay safe and remember we can keep making beauty as this goes on so that when we all meet on the other side of this we'll have shared loveliness with one another and all.

Thanks Donna for your words and I am very pleased that you are in a beautiful and quiet area, especially near the sea (I miss it very much).

I am following reports on the United States and it seems that New York is almost like Bergamo and Milan, too bad because Trump had a month to prepare well.

I hope everything ends soon an affectionate hug and protect your family.

You are an artist and a philanthropist.

I am simply a human being there is too much suffering

The shopping suspended group sounds like a great charitable initiative 👍🏽

thank you dear but I don't think in the long run it will be enough.

!discovery 30

thank you for your curation

E di che, ci mancherebbe!! Questa è una nuova funzione che ho appena sviluppato per discovery-it, anche tu @armandosodano puoi utilizzarla in quanto curatore di discovery-it. Per usarla devi usare il commento che ho fatto sotto al tuo post. 30 rappresenta la percentuale di voto con la quale voterà l'account di discovery-it. Puoi usare anche un altra percentuale. I valori ammessi sono da 30% fino a 50% inclusi.
Ciao a presto!! :)

I appreciate your creativity, @armandosodano
@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

!trdo

thank you my friend

"lasciamo i carrelli pieni, così sono liberi di prendere qualsiasi cosa necessitano"

Siete davvero grandi: iniziativa encomiabile!

Che ne pensi di questa richiesta proposta dall'Avv Marco Mori?

visto l'idea non sarebbe male, il problema è avere i soldi. Non possiamo stamparli avremo un inflazione pazzesca.

Ma no, quella dell'inflazione pazzesca è una cavolata che ci hanno ficcato nel cervello i banksters, ovvero i sostenitori del pensiero unico neo-liberista! Non si tratta di creare denaro in eccesso, ma quanto necessario per tendere alla piena occupazione... sono le basi di economia di John Maynard Keynes. ;-)


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it Entra nella nostra community! hive-193212
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it. Join our community! hive-193212