My Quarantine Story

in #quarantinelife4 years ago

IMG_20200316_191836.jpg

Hi there Hive. This is my quarantine story and It is a bit interesting because of my circumstances. First, I am healthy so don't worry about me at this point, but I do know many with the virus again due to my circumstances that I will explain below.

A few months ago I moved from Los Angeles, (hit pretty hard right now) to Orlando (about to get wrecked because of the unbelievable stupidity of Southerners lol) to create a business hub for an Italian company (in the epicenter)

So in a nutshell I just moved from Los Angeles to Orlando to work for an Italian company. Two months ago I secured a warehouse to wait for equipment from Italy to distribute to clients in the United States. The purpose was to cut down on transport time and service our US clients more efficiently.

So now I have an empty 9000 sq ft warehouse but I put a basketball hoop in it lol. And nothing to do. I was supposed to be in Italy training for the month of March so I dodged a bullet there.

Speaking of Italy, I have coworkers who are sick and one of their wives is an ICU nurse who has said that in their city there is a death every 20 minutes. The interesting thing is that a have a few coworkers trapped in the United States who cant wait to get back to Italy because they are scared of the horrible healthcare system in the USA and would rather be in Italy to be treated. But I digress.

But back the @theycallmedan initiative questions I am financially hurt because I was stuck in no man's land. I basically decided to change careers and start an Itailian based business at the exact wrong time. My compensation was to be commission so I am technically a gig worker.

I am hunkered down with my mother because when I moved here I stayed with her until I decided what part of town I would prefer. It's been nice because it has been almost 10 years since I had visited before. She's a great roommate and she has a split plan home so we have our space.

I starting social distancing the last week of February because I clearly knew what was coming because of my Italian company. I remember going to the store the first week of march with gloves on and wiping down my cart. People laughed at me and rolled their eyes. Even people in scrubs who obviously worked in healthcare were mocking me. I must say Florida is the most backward place I have ever been.

I specifically recall at the deli counter one of the workers asked why I was wearing gloves like hers. Her coworker laughed and said that I was scared of the coronavirus but she shouldn't worry because the only people who died from it spoke foreign languages. It was then that I knew I was in trouble in Florida.

In fact today an alert went out via cell phone from my county that they are putting social distancing orders in effect. It's been crazy around here. I take a 3 mile nature walk every day but even there people jog by a little to close for comfort because they tend to breathe and spittle on you as they whiz by lol.

Florida is about to get wrecked because the people here really didn't want to take it seriously. I have been honoring the quarantine behavior for over a month and will continiue to do so.

Thank god Im binge watching everything. I particularly like Gunsmoke (over 400 episodes) and shows from the 60's and early 70's that I had never scene.

The picture I decided to post is my new tinder photo lol. I figured it would show the ladies I have assets. My tag line is "Wipe Right Ladies! I have a big roll" It's working like a charm!

Stay safe and healthy everyone