My Quarantine Story

in #quarantinelife4 years ago

No one can say he/she has been the same since the spread of the Covid-19 virus. I work in a school as one of the admins, and the Government shut down school when we were about to start examinations for the Pupils and students. Some funds are held because of this. Aside that, I have some businesses which the coronavirus outbreak paused. Nothing seems to work right now. Money is spent daily, and none is coming in. I must admit that I am afraid of what this is leading to. On my health side, I have been stable, and so are my family.

I am a Nigerian, and I live in Lagos state, the largest and Nigeria centre of commerce. The population of Lagos is around 20 million, and the landscape seems smaller than the people living in it. Lagos has been a problem with Traffic. In a situation whereby Corona is trailing the world, going out in Lagos state is as if you are about to contract the Virus. I am even scared of going out right now.

The Lagos State Government and the Federal government advised and declared a must 14 days lockdown for the citizens. While this is a good measure to contain, and manage the virus from spreading, this will also cause other problems as the Government as yet to put the right things in place. USA and Canada planned a certain amount for the citizens to get food during this hard time, but this is not done yet in Nigeria. Some senior advocate of Nigeria (SAN) are already against this that the people should be catered for before the "operation stays at home."

None of my family or friends has been infected with the virus. I tried to keep everyone indoors, and I do most of the little movement, but with extra carefulness. The current lockdown is for 3 states in Nigeria, namely: Lagos, Abuja and Ogun. The Ogun Governor is totally against this, and he said he will be distributing foodstuffs to the citizen and prosponed the lockdwn just for the state alone. This is a good story in Ogun, and Lagos is also trying to do something. But most people are yet to get anything.

Certainly, this is the time for every family to stay together. My kids are doing great and so my wife. I pray I don’t have a cause to cry within this period. The world is really in peril, and I wake up every day and hope to read the news that will make me smile, but none has been coming forth since. I hope for a day when we will say Corona is gone. I am having a great time with my family. I already stock the house, but the food will eventually finish if the lockdown lingers for too long.

Coronavirus is a jailer, and it has held everyone in their homes. No one can break out without the disappearance of the corona. This is my little boy. His name is Emmanuel. He is only 2, but he does stuff like a 5 old year kid. He is a comedian. He has been keeping my company with his little funny acts. I have been using movies to while away time. Most times, I rarely know the day of the week as every day looks alike now. I am trying to engage myself with online stuff in a time like this because that is the only way to survive.

Since the only way to curb the virus now is to practice social distancing, every reasonable human must comply with it. The virus has already claimed so many lives. Thousands in China, Italy, Iran and the USA. More cases are coming up every day. Though I am happy that cases in Wuhan has gone down drastically, and I pray we hear news about that in other countries, Nigeria inclusive. I have been staying away from people as much as I can. I stopped going to social gatherings.

This is the first time a plague like this hit us in this generation. I have read books and stories that are related to ancient plagues. This is 2020 and the world has improved a lot but the scary thing is, there is no cure for this virus yet, and the future is still unclear.

Let’s all pray to God to have mercy on Humanity.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Hi @darewealth, your post has been manually chosen by Hive Supporter and upvoted with 82%.

Keep up the good work and you'll have a lot of success here on Hive for sure. To find out more about the Hive Supporter project check out this post.